mexican burger bowl + a winner!

saturday was an AMAZING food day for me! i already told you guys about our spectacular lunch at the city coffeehouse & creperie, but i still owe you a recap of dinner from saturday night.

last time i was down in st. louis i brought a pound of local beef that my mom gave me. brad and i didin’t end up cooking with it last time, so we agreed that we’d use it this weekend! when i asked brad what he wanted to do with it, he suggested this….

i was less than excited about the idea of eating hamburger helper for dinner, but he did have several of them in his cupboard, and he’s moving soon, so i agreed. after a little more investigation, however, i discovered this:

expired almost 3 years ago! lol. silly brad. that prompted me to go through his cabinets and found all of this expired food!

i happily tossed all of that in the trash! 🙂

but on to our new dinner dilemma. we decided to make some burgers! brad chopped up onions!

(have you noticed he does a lot of the chopping when we cook together? he’s so good at it!) the puppy watched.

we mixed together the beef, chopped onions, dashes of salt, pepper, oregano, and garlic powder, as well as some shredded sharp cheddar cheese! then brad formed them into patties and we grilled them on the george forman.

capone helped some more.

after the burgers were done, i decided to eat them my favorite way….in salad form! 🙂 i loaded up my bowl with spinach, chopped tomatoes, more onions, a chopped up burger patty, guacamole, a bit of sour cream, and lots of salsa!

you might also see a little special ingredient in there too….

brad got a bag of the new flavor of sun chips! jalapeno jack! we added them for a little crunch! let me tell you, that was a good decision! spicy and crunch! mmm…. i also enjoyed a little vino with dinner.

plus two more glasses…. what? it was a saturday night! 😉 brad and i also took home a complementary cheesecake from dinner on friday  night (we sat at our booth for about 10 minutes before our waiter came over so they gave us free cheesecake!), so we ate that for dessert!

it was ok, not great, so i only had a bite or two.

seriously though, guys. make that burger bowl! it was so so so SO good! i mmm’ed the whole way through it. i think i enjoyed it more than the crepes for lunch!

*****

30 day challenge: day 15

day 15’s prompt is to show a photo of something you want to do before you die. i thought about my bucket list and decided to share this dream. to go on a european tour for a month! i would love to get a europass and spend time exploring! some places that absolutely must be on the tour:

greece.

italy.

and paris!

i was in europe once before – germany on a high school trip for 3 weeks. it was AMAZING but i really wish i had a chance to see more of europe when i was there!

*****

giveaway winner!

and now the moment you’ve all been waiting for! i used a random number generator to pick the winner…

number 17 was…..

congrats lindsay!!! e-mail me at learningsarah [at] gmail [dot] com with your address and i’ll send the arbonne goodies out asap! 🙂

thank you so much to everyone who entered! i hope i’ll be able to do more giveaways in the near future.

*****

oats & spice is hosting a king arthur flour giveaway! you should stop over and check it out. she’s awesome too!

*****

have you tried my salad method of eating burgers yet?

i have to say – i think they’re even better that way than on buns….and you guys know i love my carbs!

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to mexican burger bowl + a winner!

  1. KT says:

    We made hamburgers this weekend too (stuffed with blue cheese and topped with caramelized onions–hence the risotto the next night with remaining onions and cheese)!

    I definitely need to try a burger bowl next time we make them 🙂

    • Sarah says:

      oh yum! i wanted to stuff these with cheese, but brad voted for mixing the cheese into the burgers. i love caramelized onions – i haven’t quite perfected the caramelizing process yet though. i should work on that!

  2. Megan says:

    um mexican burger bowl sounds delish!!! im gonna have to try this pronto!!!!
    i am really laughing though because of the hamburger helped expiring so long ago. i wont eat something if it is just ONE day expired because i swear it will taste funny!

    have a great day!

  3. i must try your burger salad bowl idea. that looks so good!! and good call on checking the expiration dates!
    ps…can’t believe i won. woohoo!

    • Sarah says:

      woohoo! i was excited when i saw you were the winner! 🙂 i hope you like the products. will you use the makeup brushes? i know you don’t wear makeup! lol…

  4. Briana says:

    I don’t eat meat, but I already know 2 people I’m going to recommend this recipe to!! Or I can try this with my morning start meal starters imitation meat… hmmm!!

  5. The burger bowl sounds great! I am cracking up about the very expired Hamburger Helper – glad you noticed the date before you made/ate it!

    • Sarah says:

      honeslty, i was looking for ANY reason not to eat that stuff! thank goodness it was expired so i didn’t have to make up a different excuse!

  6. Cait says:

    woohoo yay for the winner of the givewaway and WOW the Hamburger Helper looks AWESOME! yummmmy! ahh i also love that you want to go to GREECE too! xo

    • Sarah says:

      we didn’t eat the hamburger helper, thank goodness! it was expired. that stuff really grosses me out! we got to make burgers instead! 🙂

  7. man, my dogs are ALWAYS begging when I’m in the kitchen cooking – yours looks so well behaved! I want to go on a whole European vacation! I’ve gone once & I went to 3 countries: England, France & Amsterdam – but I have so many other places I still want to visit, too!!!

    • Sarah says:

      oh, they’re little beggars, don’t be fooled! they’re not even supposed to be in the kitchen when we’re cooking, but brad always lets them!

  8. Expired hamburger helper isn’t high on my list either. 🙂 My mom is the queen of having very much expired food in her pantry. Last year I found a can of peas that didn’t even have the standard Nutrition Label. I think that was passed in the early 90s – so no telling how old those peas were. Ugh. I’m too far on the other side and am pretty militant about observing BIUB dates.

    • Sarah says:

      i’m really careful about expiration dates too! plus, food doesn’t last long enough to expire in my kitchen!!! lol. brad’s going to have to clean up his act in a month!

  9. Priyanka says:

    I love your style of eating a burger over a salad. I tried those jalapeno chips and loved them.

    Love Paris!

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.