the creperie

on saturday afternoon, brad and i took a little jaunt to have lunch at one of the places on our st. louis list! he is graduating on april 23, so we are really running out of time to finish!

this weekend, we decided to check off city coffee house & creperie. it’s a cute little cafe in clayton that serves sandwiches, salads, coffee, and (obviously) crepes! i used to come here all the time when i was in undergrad, but i haven’t been in years, and brad had never been there.

this is the kind of place where you walk in, choose your food from a menu board and then order and pay at the counter and get a number. i LOVE their menu boards.

aren’t they cute?!

i think it’s so cool that they are on chalkboards. i told brad and we both had to get crepes even though the sandwiches and salads looked delicious. it’s called the creperie for a reason! i do have to admit, my first time here i was a little wary of the idea of savory crepes. i always thought of crepes as vehicles to deliver strawberries, powdered sugar, and nutella! but after trying them, i’m convinced for sure. this time, i was going back and forth between two crepes, but i finally settled on the shaw park.

turkey, fresh spinach, havarti cheese, roasted red peppers, and a house-made dressing. i also paid an extra dollar to get it on a buckwheat crepe.

so worth it! the buckwheat was great and look at all of that deliciousness stuffed in there!

brad ordered the sante fe crepe.

chorizo, pepperjack cheese, avocado, tomato, cilantro, red onion, fresh spinach with juan’s house-made rojo sauce topped with avocado sour cream sauce. i’ve never tried this crepe before and really liked it too!

they’re usually really busy on the weekends for breakfast, but we got there around 1pm for lunch, so we were able to snag seats out in the sunroom area. [don’t mind brad’s shoulder or the random girl i got in the photo…]

saturday was a gorgeous day so it was nice to be “outside”. clearly we both enjoyed our meals. 😉

i highly recommend city coffeehouse & creperie to anyone in the st. louis or clayton area. it’s delicious, and they offer a unique menu with plenty of options. it was a great lunch!

*****

now, it’s monday, so that means i get to check in with myself on my goals from the last week!

¤ finish research proposal and turn it in to committee by next monday. check! i’m e-mailing my proposal after lunch today.
¤ concentrate on balanced eating. i’ve been snacking a lot lately and eating way more carbs than i need. i want to make sure i’m getting more balanced meals this week. i only did so-so on this. i still want to make more of an effort to eat more mindfully.
¤ get car looked at. it’s been making an awful groaning noise every time i stop and i need to just bite the bullet and take it in. check! i took it in already and my brakes are fixed!
¤ do the 30 day shred every day this week. i’ve totally been slacking on this. big old fail. i only did the shred 2 days this week. i was feeling very overwhelmed with my research proposal and let myself use that as an excuse not to exercise. blah.

i do have some goals in mind for this week too!

• move more. apparently the every single day exercise kind of goal didn’t work for me. i’m just going to make an effort to be more active in general and hopefully do the shred and get running this week!

• call florist and make appointment. i really need to meet with our wedding florist to figure out our flowers. step one = making the appointment!

• finish reading 168 hours. i put the book on the back burner because of my research proposal. now that i’m done with that i can finish the book!

• wear a different outfit each day. this one is kind of embarrassing, but i’ve been wearing the same jeans and sweatshirt several times a week lately. i guess it’s just a combination of an end of winter clothing funk and the fact that i don’t like how a lot of my clothes fit right now. hopefully paying attention to mixing it up will help me with this!

*****

30 day challenge: day 14

and finally, day 14’s task is to post a picture of someone you could not imagine your life without. there are several people i can’t imagine my life without, but the one that popped into my mind first is brad.

in the past 2 and a half years that we have been together, brad has become such an important part of my life. my morning doesn’t feel like it’s started until i got my “good morning beautiful” text from his and my day doesn’t feel complete until after we skype at night. and of course there is lots of texting, emailing, and talking in the middle! he is so supportive of me and always lets me know how much he loves me. i think we make such a good match because we both aren’t afraid to be real with each other, talk about what’s stressing us out, but we also laugh a lot and work well together! i love my man!

*****

giveaway

today is the last day to enter my giveaway to win over $200 worth of arbonne products! you can enter here until 8pm cst tonight.

*****

whew, thanks for sticking with me if you read the whole post! sorry for today’s lengthiness!

do you have any goals for this week?

have you ever had a savory crepe?

they’re soooooo tasty!

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in st. louis and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to the creperie

  1. such a cute post about brad! also, def know what you mean about wearing the same clothes! that happens to me a lot 🙂

  2. brandi says:

    yum! I’ve never had a real crepe! I should definitely change that 😉

    • Sarah says:

      you MUST change that! i’m sure YOU wouldn’t have any trouble making your own crepes! the only thing i’ve heard is you have to make sure your pan is hot before you dump the batter on it otherwise it won’t flip…!

  3. Wow the creperie looks amazing! I’ve never had savory crepes but these look awesome…I’m such a pancakes girl though. Me solving that problem would be ordering a sweet crepe and a savory crepe, I’m really unhealthy like that! Love the idea of having weekly goals! I feel like blogging about something makes me more likely to actually accomplish it! My goals for this week are getting back into a normal sleep, eating, and exercise routine. I woke up at 11 today….disgusting.

    • Sarah says:

      oh wow, we SHOULD have gotten one sweet and one savory! that would have been a great idea!

      i feel crappy when i wake up too late too. sorry your day got off to a late start!

  4. oh man. i love crepes. i wish we had a good creperie here!

  5. cutest darn menu board I’ve ever seen 🙂

  6. Cait says:

    i love this- i love this and oh yeah i love this 🙂 seriously you and your man are so cute! I love receiving ‘good morning’ texts and skyping at night when possible- although at least with my long distant relationship now, we tend to skype twice a week or so since we’re so busy! the menu is ADORABLE! how can you NOT enjoy it?! crepes= heaven. just syain 😉

    • Sarah says:

      sometimes brad and i are too busy to skype every night, but we try REALLY hard to fit it in even if it’s just a quick ‘hi’ for 5 mins!

  7. What a cute place! Looks like you had a great time! 🙂

    Speaking of the 30 day shred… it’s arriving from Netflix tomorrow for me. We’ll see how it goes, haha!

  8. I l-o-v-e that picture of you and Brad! Darling! 🙂

    • Sarah says:

      oh thanks courtney! 🙂 i was looking through our engagement photos again and that one popped out at me – i haven’t really used it for anything, but i really like it!

  9. The crepe looks incredible! I’ve never had a savory one..but I definitely want to give one a try now!

  10. carlydeal says:

    I have never had a crepe before…I’ll have to get on it!

  11. oooh crepes! my hubs makes the best ones i’ve ever had! ❤ oooh i havent had them in forever! its for sure crepe time!!!!

    i'm behind on shred too girl! I had to send back the netflix and my dvd from amazon is still not here! eep! shred for me mmk?

    xo

  12. Kristen says:

    We go to a crepe stand in Breckenridge, Colorado every summer that makes amazing crepes. (Seriously, the 2 times I didn’t go with the Hubs, he called me to tell me how delicious these crepes were!) I fell in love the first time I had them, and can you believe we’ve never been to Creperie?! Not exactly close to our house, but I feel that living off Hwy 40 makes everything a little closer! I will be forcing him to read your post to convince him to go soon…

  13. Kristina says:

    Our honeymoon has a Crepe bar and that’s all i’ve been talking about (disregard the beach, sun, and my husband to be) I want crepes! haha…you just fueled my fire!

  14. I love the Creperie and that’s very close to my neck of the woods here in St. Louis 🙂

    Last time we went I got the Santa Fe and loved it! Like you I thought I only liked sweet crepes but boy was I wrong.

    Hope you are having a great Monday!

  15. crepes are SOOOO yummy. those look fab. & congrats on your research proposal! i can’t wait until i get to that point in my PhD journey. just turned in the IRB proposal for my project. feels great!

    • Sarah says:

      irb proposals are rough! congrats on turning yours in! i’m working on renewing my approval for the LAST TIME! 🙂 yay! i always say that i wish i could go back and do research on mice or yeast – no irb’s for them!

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

