what’s inside your package?

happy 4th of july, friends! i hope you’re celebrating today with good food, friends, and family! đŸ™‚ i have a fun guest post today from my lovely sister, lizzy!

*****

Hey guys! It’s Liz again, Sarah’s younger sister! I am back again, but this time I am going to write about sending packages to friends/boyfriends/families etc. So, for the longest time my boyfriend and I had a long distance relationship that started after we met in the summer of 2006 all the way until May of 2010 when I finally moved out to California. Although we spent every summer together and many visits every 1-2 months, you have to find a way to fill that void of feeling like you arent really involved in their lives. For me, sending packages was the best of the best when it came to filling that void. I will tell you I did love phone chats, late night texts, emails with silly photos when we were bored in the library and even skype chats, but for me, sending packages still topped them all.

I put a lot of love into my baking, scrap-booking, and just being creative because that is what I love. Unfortunately, I specifically remember writing a note in my “last” package to my love telling him how excited I was to be sending my last package to him ever because we would FINALLY be together. But life throws you curve balls all of the time and let me tell you, this past week has been a little crazy.

So I wanted to share a tiny bit of drama for you then we will move on to the good stuff and I will tell you how I like “my packages”. Hehe đŸ™‚

In a nutshell, I recently moved back to WI after being in CA for a year. My boyfriend and I decided we were going to try it out here for a year and see how we liked it and then figure out where we wanted to be after this. We drove across the country about 3 weeks ago and my boyfriend had 3 job interviews while he was here and was going to hopefully take one of those jobs. He then flew back to CA to pack his vehicle only to turn around a few days later to drive back here. Well… here is the curve ball… he tells me on skype that he got a job! “Great!,” I thought…until he said..”In South San Francisco…”

At that point I realized, I can be optimistic about it or be a crying mess. Time to be optimistic… so I decided I would finally enroll in culinary school (I have been putting this off for almost 2 years now) and just support his judgment and what he told me was a great opportunity. ANYWAYS….

So I am in WI for the summer and it is time to fill the void….(I hope that wasn’t too overwhelming.)

Now, time for the details about my package…

I always bake a lot of sweets for my love and this time I definitely did! I started with a strawberry rhubarb swirl pound cake, whole wheat honey oat bread, some farmers market treats and some delicious Triple Thread Chocolate Fudge Peanut Butter cookies (thanks to How Sweet It Is).

The fun part of making packages is the whole process of putting together each item.

*

*

*

The end result makes you feel so good and then the anticipation of waiting for them receive the package is really the icing on the cake.

Also, writing little love notes is also definitely a perk!

I hope this inspires you to send a package to a loved one and that you will take the time out of your day to put it together! Pretend that the time it takes to do it is the time that you would want to spend it with that special person. I know that when I make the time for it, I appreciate doing it more than just throwing something together! Have fun!!

*Liz

Do you have any tips for sending packages to loved ones?

*****

thanks, liz! i loved this post. i’ve been lucky enough to receive a few care packages from liz in my undergrad days. trust me, she knows how to put together good ones! đŸ™‚

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to what’s inside your package?

  1. great post! bummer you’re back sending packages again but it looks like you really know how to do it right đŸ™‚

  2. Cute post, thanks! I try to send care packages to in-laws in Florida a lot, mainly goodies from Trader Joe’s now in USPS flat rate boxes since I can load them with heavy nut butter jars and not pay for the weight. đŸ™‚

  3. I love sending packages and cards, especially when they are unexpected. A surprise in the mail can make someone’s day (or even week). I also love getting them!

  4. Wow sounds like a lot of changes are happening for you Liz! I never sent care packages when J and I were dating long distance but now I wish I had–what a great idea!

    My sister will be studying in Rome for a year starting in September. Perhaps I can try out my care package skills then đŸ™‚

  5. Dawn says:

    I’m also in a long distance relationship, where we too will eventually pack up that distance. But one of my favorite things is mailing out little care packages, full of baked goods, even a favorite drink or trinket that made me think of them. And when I go visit, I often bring along some cheesecurds of course, cause he doesn’t have the pleasure of understanding how fantastic our cheese is! Optimism is the best way to get through it, because in the long haul – it’s well worth the wait.

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.