our new apartment!

hello everyone! hope you’re having an awesome saturday. besides being a little under the weather, my day is awesome! you know that poster presentation i had this morning? well, it went REALLY well! so well, in fact, that i won an award for it! second place and a $50 prize! nerd alert….

*****

also, guess what, guys?!? WE GOT OUR APARTMENT!!! πŸ™‚ i’m so excited! since brad doesn’t have an actual job offer yet, so we were going off of only my (very very small) graduate student stipend, we weren’t sure we would get it. but we did! hooray!

anyone who is creative or a good decorator, i’ll probably be begging for some decorating tips in the near future! (*cough* jenn *cough*)

ok, first, here is the guest bathroom:

it has a full tub and shower – you can see the wall of shelf storage in the reflection too – perfect for extra towels, etc! i think i’m going to have to put a tension rod with a curtain or something there – not sure i’m digging the exposed shelves…

*****

and the guest bedroom (aka, my sister’s bedroom i hope i hope!). first, here’s the closet – and brad:

and the bedroom with the door closing.

oops- my bad! not a very good photo….

*****

now, here’s my favorite part! this is our living area from the entryway:

the kitchen is to the right and our patio is straight back. the accent wall is a pretty blue color that we decided to leave – we like blue! πŸ™‚

here’s the kitchen from the dining area.

and the inside of the kitchen island/breakfast bar!

*i’ve NEVER lived in a house or apartment with a dishwasher. yes, i’m deprived!

*****

and finally, our bedroom! the master bedroom has a separate bathroom off of it, and a walk-in closet off the bathroom. here’s the bedroom standing in the closet and looking through the bathroom.

and the bedroom from the farthest corner next to the window.

*****

ok, i’m also a super dork and made out this “floorplan” of the apartment. it is NOT to scale – i don’t have the measurements, and i think it’s even longer and skinnier than i drew it, but here’s how all these rooms go together!

i’m still playing with it – i want to use this to try to figure out how i want to arrange our furniture! πŸ™‚

*****

annnndddd….brad’s parents came down to madison today to spend some time together and to go out to dinner. they had a surprise for us too! they took us to american furniture to pick out a dining set for a wedding present! πŸ™‚

this is what we chose.

i LOOOOOOVE it! i feel like such an adult choosing real furniture! it’s 42″ high, and it comes with 24″ chairs. we’re going to be getting 29″ stools for our breakfast bar, so we measured the table and figure out that if we need to, we can pull those to the table as well and people will still be able to fit their legs under the table. they’re just be extra tall! πŸ™‚

if you can’t tell, i am beyond excited about our new apartment! i wish i had a bigger budget to decorate! i think i’ll be doing a lot of diy projects and getting lots of inspiration from young house love and peas & crayons! i’ll be sure to keep you updated on projects and progress!

what was the first “adult” purchase you made?

mine was a queen size bed a year and a half ago! but the table is my second – not that i paid for it, but you know…

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to our new apartment!

  1. yay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! so excited for you guys. also…how awesome that you won a prize. that’s amazing! so proud πŸ™‚

  2. The dining has a super rustic-chic feel to it – LOVE it! Congrats on the getting the apt. – so exciting!

    Our first big adult purchase happened when we got married and bout a queen bed! My husband lived in a fraternity all through college, and I lived in a sorority – so buying our own bed was quite the milestone!

    • Sarah says:

      yay! i love it too! thanks, courtney. πŸ™‚ so much fun getting your own “adult” bed! it was a big deal for me when i did that too.

  3. eatspinlive says:

    Congrats on your apartment, new table, AND the poster award!! πŸ™‚ I am so happy for you! That is SO exciting! My first adult purchase was my computer! I saved up a really long time when I was 17 to buy it! I felt really grown up! I hope you have a great weekend!

    • Sarah says:

      ohhh, yes! a computer is a big deal! i bought one when i went to college too, but it was with my high school graduation money that i was given as gifts – so it didn’t feel quite as monumental as working and saving my own money!

  4. Emilie says:

    Congratulations on EVERYTHING! What a weekend πŸ™‚ Your apartment looks amazing and seeing all that space makes me so jealous as a NYC resident!!

  5. This Italian Family says:

    Ahh! Your table looks almost exactly the same as ours!! How fun! πŸ™‚

    I think our house was probably the first “adult” purchase we made. Most of our furniture was given to us when we lived in apartments, haha!

  6. CONGRATS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    OOh and I love your table! My first adult purchase? I bought my first laptop when I graduated college (I was too broke until then!) and my first car in high school (still have the same one! POS! haha! it is super beyond used!)

    ahhh congrats again!

    • Sarah says:

      yaaaaay! thanks for the congrats! now that i’m thinking about it more – i guess i don’t think our dining set “counts” as an adult purchase since we didn’t buy it ourselves….but oh well! πŸ™‚

  7. KT says:

    That is so exciting! Can’t wait to see how you decorate it πŸ™‚ Looks like there’s lots of space for you guys to move around which is nice.

    My first adult purchase was a laptop like Jenn. I got one when I started college from my parents but after it crashed and burned, I bought myself a Mac three years ago and have happily been a Mac user ever since!

    • Sarah says:

      oooh, i bought myself a mac in college too! my cheap dell died after 3 years and i KNEW i wanted a mac! i haven’t looked back. πŸ™‚

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.