let me count the ways

oh how i love the weekend.

let me count the ways…..

1. i get to wake up without an alarm.

this one alone would be worth it own post celebrating it. i wake up between 5 and 6am to an alarm every day during the week so it is glorious waking up whenever i wake up. even though that is usually no later than 7:30am. i did sleep until about 10am on saturday morning thanks to a bit too much wine + margaritas on friday night. oops!

2. an awesome perk to those early alarm-free wake-ups = no one is at the supermarket! i stopped at trader joe’s, whole foods, starbucks, and costco and was only gone from our apartment for 2.5 hours. and that includes ~45 minutes of driving time to and from downtown.

i win on that one!

3. plenty of time to make a big breakfast and i get to eat with brad!

yesterday we made egg sandwiches with a side of breakfast potatoes with green peppers and onions. i wasn’t feeling the english muffin for the sandwich though, so i just threw everything onto a massive pile of spinach.

DSC_0009.NEF

it was soooooo good like this! i got to eat everything together in one bite. i think i’ll have to always do this from now on!

4. naps.

i love naps. i don’t take them often during the week because then i’m up late and exhausted the next day.

but on weekends, they’re fair game.

yesterday, i fell asleep reading on the bed in the guest bedroom and capone and jake were snuggling with me. i woke up with one arm around capone snuggling him and with jake curled up behind my knees. it was perfect.

5. leftovers.

usually by sunday we have plenty of random leftovers from meals eaten out or dinners that i prepared the previous week.

yesterday’s dinner was 100% leftovers.

DSC_0016.NEF

i had the rest of a box of tomato soup (i used half of it in some sloppy joes that i made last weekend) and some italian bread that needed to be used up with the last of our morel mushroom cheese that also needed to be used up!

brad’s meal was leftover split pea and ham soup with cheesy bread and some leftover pulled pork!

6-10000. football games (even though the packers lost yesterday Sad smile ), more time with brad, lots of snuggle time with jake & capone, a wardrobe of sweatpants and slippers, writing my sunday sevens posts (i love those!), baking, eating willy wonkas, and so much more!

obviously, i had a pretty great weekend.

how was yours?

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in breakfast, ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to let me count the ways

  1. My weekend was great! We baked all our Christmas cookies, had two parties, and I lounged on the couch most of yesterday. I needed a relaxing weekend!

  2. Haha naps totally throw me off. Its SO rare that I take one, but if I do, I end up waking up so confused, and craving breakfast. Hahaha

  3. Mine was good, even though I worked a lot. I’m still adjusting to a non M-F work week….so the weekends are a bit different, but still sort of feel like a weekend!

  4. Chelsea says:

    I had a good weekend :). I went to two parties, and it’s hard to be back at work for today – Wednesday at noon. I love going to Trader Joes 1st thing on Saturday morning. Everything is stocked fresh and hardly anyone is there.

  5. i love waking up without an alarm too! although i am exactly like you because i can never manage to sleep in very much. this morning i was pretty proud of myself to manage 8:00 AM!

  6. esmemerrie says:

    my schedule is backwards! Weekends are crazy! lol I’m always happy when Monday rolls around!

  7. Katie says:

    Yay, I love when I make your blog 😉 Glad you enjoyed the little package ~ I love sending out fun mail. I love naps too, but I have to remember that they don’t always love me… I took one today (yesterday?) and now here I am, still awake at 3 am! Bad news…

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

