overnight oats

after i posted about my overnight oats last wednesday, liz and emily asked me to post a recipe for them!

i am happy to fulfill that request!

i’ve seen a couple different versions of overnight oats, but this is my tried & true method.

the night before you want to eat them (or even as little as a half hour before), gather your ingredients:

  • 1/3-1/2 cup rolled oats (depending on how big you like your breakfasts)
  • 1 tbsp ground flaxseeds*
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds*
  • 1/2 cup milk (i like vanilla almond milk from trader joe’s, but i’ve used hemp milk, rice milk, coconut milk, and regular cow’s milk and they all work well!)
  • 1 banana, mashed (can also substitute ~1/3 cup pumpkin puree)

*flax and chia seeds are optional, but definitely help soak up the liquid and make the mixture come together.

then just mix them all together and refrigerate overnight!

i usually add my nut butter and fruit toppings the night before as well. i use frozen very cherry berry blend from trader joe’s, so if i add it at night, it’s thawed by the time i eat it in the morning!

i also sometimes add granola to the mix, but i add that in the morning as i’m eating so it doesn’t get soggy…

and that’s it! it really is super easy and so delicious.

definitely let me know if you try it!

***

what are your favorite oatmeal toppings?

i am very loyal to my very cherry berry blend from trader joe’s. i can’t get enough!

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in breakfast, food, recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to overnight oats

  1. Chelsea says:

    The thing I’ve always been curious about with overnight oats is… isn’t it weird to eat cold oatmeal?

  2. I always love seeing your variations on your oats and find myself jealous of your breakfasts! 🙂 I am going to try this, thanks for posting!

  3. Katie says:

    My favorite topping is my raw honey, and I never put fruit in! I always eat it on the side 😉

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

