triple bean salad

i love beans.

this was a very handy preference during my first two years of grad school when i lived on my own on a very very very limited budget due to having to pay of some credit cards that got the best of me during undergrad. but that’s another story for another day.

back to the beans.

i started throwing this little concoction together several times a month to pack in my lunches. it didn’t take me long to perfect it to suit my tastes and then i didn’t mess with it.

three bean salad

i made it again last week.

and thankfully it was just as delicious and flavorful as i remembered.

DSC_0127

why did i stop making it regularly?!

hmm. no clue. but i can tell you this – i’ll be making it again soon!

three bean salad

ingredients

  • 7 oz roasted red peppers, diced
  • 2 cups cooked great northern beans*
  • 2 cups cooked kidney beans*
  • 2 cups cooked black beans*
  • 2 cups sweet corn*
  • 1 cup green onion, chopped
  • 1 small can diced green chiles (optional)

*or one 15 oz. can, rinsed and drained

dressing

  • 1/2 cup salsa
  • 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
  • salt and pepper to taste

method

  1. mix all ingredients in large bowl
  2. mix dressing in small bowl
  3. toss dressing into salad
  4. refrigerate for 24 hours before serving for best flavor

easy peasy and so delicious!

DSC_0026

this is a perfect cold dish to bring to a potluck – i’m bringing it to my department holiday lunch on thursday!

*****

do you have any holiday potlucks or parties coming up?

what do you like to bring as a dish to pass at a party?

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in food, recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to triple bean salad

  1. This is PERFECT! I have been using the Green Giant healthy frozen vegetable mixes lately for my lunches, but this is SO much better! It sounds delicious, thank you so much for sharing!

  2. This is a VERY yummy dish! I do recall! 🙂

  3. love that this has salsa in the dressing!

  4. Mellissa says:

    This looks so good! I have a similar salad that is great for lunches.

  5. This reminds me of Texas Caviar! Yum!

  6. Yum! I will definitely be making this as an easy salad topper when I go back to work!

  7. I always bake for potlucks. I have a huge sweet tooth. but if not sweets then most recently, a kale salad with roasted butternut squash, cranberries and walnuts.
    I use to make something similar to this bean salad when I was in grad school too! I will have to put it back in rotation. looks great 🙂

  8. Marissa says:

    Thanks for this super great and easy recipe. Made it for my mom to take to her potluck at work and she was incredibly thankful and everyone loved it!

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

