stuffed stockings + leftovers

yesterday’s meals were all about leftovers!

but…before i even thought of eating, i had to check out stockings to see what we got from st. nick!

i must have been a very good girl…i got fuzzy socks, flavored coffee, chocolates, and fancy hot cocoa mix!

brad was also very good. he got flavored coffee and lots of candies too!

the puppies got stockings too – they each had a rawhide bone and turkey jerky treats in their stocking. they also got a rope toy to share!

do you celebrate saint nick’s day on december 6? i know it’s a european tradition that started with children leaving their shoes outside their doors on the night of december 5th and waking up to find coins in them from st. nick. it’s common in areas with strong european influence in the united states to still participate in the tradition. we always had st. nick stockings growing up and i love continuing the tradition with my little family!

***

ok, on to the food!

as has become my wednesday tradition, i’m linking up with jenn’s what i ate wednesday link party today!

it’s such a great idea to check out all of the bloggers who join in and get some inspiration to mix up your meals and try something new!

unfortunately, today i’ll be telling you about mostly old food….leftovers!

we try to be somewhat frugal in our house, and part of that means no wasting food! we love leftovers…  and somehow, we have a fridge full of them right now! so that’s what i ate yesterday…

breakfast was the only meal of the day that was not leftover. i made these overnight oats on monday night!

it was my typical mix of mashed banana, rolled oats, chia seeds, ground flaxseeds and almond butter with very cherry berry blend and some cashew butter on top! i hadn’t had this breakfast in almost two weeks and it hit the spot!!

*

lunch was a smorgasbord of leftovers!

bowl #1 had leftover roasted acorn and butternut squash (roasted in coconut oil – yum.). bowl #2 had leftover chana masala. and bowl #3 had leftover cranberry relish! no, not thanksgiving leftovers still hanging around – this year my grandma didn’t make her relish, and i was really craving it, so i whipped up some for myself!

my eyes were a bit bigger than my stomach with this meal and i only had half of the cranberry relish and half of the indian food. oh well, lunch for today is ready!

*

dinner = more leftovers!

chicken chana masala and parmesan garlic roasted spaghetti squash (recipe coming soon). the spaghetti squash was the star of this plate – so garlic-y and delicious!

throw in a couple of julie’s cookies and that’s what i ate yesterday!

***

today is grocery shopping day…finally! and i’m actually cooking a fresh meal tonight – i can’t wait to change it up! you really have no idea how often i’ve eaten that indian food in the past week. next time, i’m making a half batch or freezing some!

*****

do you celebrate st. nick day on december 6?

are you a leftovers person?

i’m always surprised when i find out that people dislike leftovers. i’m such a fan. but some people really hate them. interesting…

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in food, meals, wiaw and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to stuffed stockings + leftovers

  1. Mac says:

    Aww St. Nick was very good to you! I wish we would’ve celebrated the St. Nick tradition in my family I would’ve loved to get some goodies yesterday lol

  2. Yay, I’m so glad someone else celebrates St Nicks!!! (Are you German??)
    Except I thought it was on the 5th, so he came early to our house. 🙂

    • sarah says:

      well he comes the night of the 5th so the presents are there when you wake up on the 6th!

      yes, my maternal grandfather was 100% german and there is some german on my dad’s side of the family too.

  3. I’ve never heard of St. Nick’s Day – but I’m always up for little treats during the holiday season!

  4. I think once, I had presents from St Nick. lol.

    Some things are better as leftovers like homemade mac and cheese and pasta bakes. Mmmm. I love those leftovers!

  5. Youre fruity breakfast mix looks very tasty! Love the idea of St. Nick’s day. I’ve never celebrated it. Maybe next year!

  6. Dorry says:

    I love leftovers when I actually make enough food. I usually eat it all the 1st time around. 🙂 This reminded me I need to add spaghetti squash to my grocery list right now!

  7. Jessica says:

    I love the peppermint chocolates 🙂 So festive!

  8. Your breakfast looks colourful AND delicious. 😀 I normally only make enough for one, so no leftovers for me. ><

  9. I NEED to make over night oats! Can you post a recipe? Yes, I do do St. Nick… keith felt sad that he forgot because he said he wants to start that tradition because I have done it for him the past 5 years. 🙂 and yes… leftovers for life!

  10. Emily Lazar says:

    YAY FOR LEFTOVERS!! I love them too 🙂 I swear food gets better if it has a night or two to sit. Overnight oats sound great. Do you have a fav recipe?

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

