domestic goddess

haha! i have to laugh at this post title.

i will be the first to admit that i am far from being a domestic goddess most of the time. every now and then, though, i have a day that makes me think i might not be so far after all…

i had one of those days this week! i don’t know what got into me!

i woke up and bottled a batch of kombucha and got another one brewing.

then, i made a stop at the supermarket for supplies for the rest of my plans for the day.

i got supplies to make cranberry relish (my grandma didn’t make any this year and i was craving it!), chicken chana masala for dinner, and….bread!

i found a recipe for honey whole wheat bread (and of course i can’t find the recipe online now…) and knew that it would be my first yeast bread!

i decided to bake in the spur of the moment, and i didn’t waste any time getting to work. i mixed up the yeast and other wet ingredients + whole wheat flour in my mixer.

DSCN3516

then in went the flour and i mixed away until the dough formed a ball. i kneaded for a couple more minutes, then set it in a buttered bowl covered with plastic wrap to rise for ~1 hour.

DSCN3517

(and then the sun went down and the rest of my pictures are sad. 😦 )

after the dough approximately doubled in size…

DSCN3518

i removed it from the bowl, punched it down, divided it in half, and formed two loaves, which i put into buttered bread pans for the second rise.

DSCN3519

this one only took about a half hour and then my bread went into the oven for a half hour while i bit my nails and prayed that my first attempt at bread baking was a success.

guess what?!

DSCN3537

golden brown perfection!

i ate a slice immediately (and did not listen to the instructions to wait until it was cooled to cut it…).

DSCN3523

i was so proud of myself! (and i still am…!)

DSCN3528

i guess baking bread with yeast was always a bit intimidating to me because i had never done it before, but it really was very easy.

i really liked the honey whole wheat flavor too. it was pretty dense because of the whole wheat flour, but the loaves were fairly small, so the slices are also small!

DSCN3533

i ate it warm with butter the night i baked it.

DSCN3542

and it was equally delicious toasted with chocolate peanut butter, a bit of honey, and chia seeds for breakfast at work this week!

good thing we like it…we have two whole loaves to finish off. i think next time i need to find a recipe that only yields one loaf. we just don’t eat bread that quickly in our house!

or…can you freeze bread dough? it would have been so nice to just bake half of the dough and save the other half for next week.

if you’re a bread expert, please help me out in the comments! 🙂

p.s. number 18 is done!

***

it’s friday!

i hope you all have a great last day of the week & some fun weekend plans ahead! we don’t have much going on this weekend. of course, brad has to work tomorrow morning, but we’re going out to eat tonight with a bunch of our friends and then for a couple drinks afterward.

other than that, i think we should probably finish up those darn wedding thank you notes that have been hanging over our heads forever. i might have promised brad delicious food + a star wars marathon while we work on them…

*****

help me out with my bread questions!

can you freeze bread dough?

do you have a recipe for just one loaf of bread?

yes, i know i could have just halved this recipe, but it called for just one packet of yeast, and i didn’t really want to have to split it in half, blah blah. yeah, i’m lazy.

also, we don’t have a bread maker, so i need non-bread maker recipes, please?!

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in 101 in 1001, breakfast, food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to domestic goddess

  1. Katie says:

    Ooh your bread is lovely!!! I’m so jealous… Well jealous that you’re braver than me. I think at this point my bread-making fits are going to have to wait until break. Also, and I am the opposite of an expert mind you, I think you can partially bake a loaf, freeze it, and then just do the last few minutes of baking when you’re ready to eat it. Let me know if you try it!

  2. looks fabulous!!!! so proud of you for using yeast! see, it’s not hard!

  3. We freeze our homemade pizza dough, but it’s never as good as when it’s fresh.

  4. Deb Sieracki says:

    I do not see why you would not be able to freeze your bread dough. You can buy frozen bread dough. Nice work Sar.

    Mama

  5. esmemerrie says:

    I’ve never frozen bread dough, only pizza dough, but like Katie said, it’s never the same!
    I never wait to slice my bread!! It’s wayyyy to delicious looking to stay away from!

  6. The Linz says:

    Your bread looks so delish!! I have never made bread [well, that didn’t come out of a box] before. I’m super intimidated too. I may have to give it a try one of these days.

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

