no rest for the thankful

wow.

this thanksgiving 4-day weekend was filled with family, food, laughter, fun, friends, shopping, and much more. it was not filled with relaxing, however.

from the minute brad got off of work on wednesday, until about 1pm today, we were go-go-go-go.

it was fun, but now i need a vacation to recover from my vacation (har har….)

here’s the holiday weekend breakdown…

wednesday

i worked at home and packed and cleaned in the afternoon in preparation of the weekend.

brad had to work, but got done around 5:30 instead of 7:30 so we could get on the road a little earlier.

in manitowoc, we got the dogs settled at my mom’s house, then headed out to the bars to see everyone we went to high school with. seriously. the bars were packed full and i kept bumping into people i hadn’t seen in forever. it was really fun! we ended up staying out pretty late and got back to my mom’s around 2am when i crashed in bed.

thursday

my alarm went off at 6:15 thursday morning (barely 4 hours of sleep – ahhh.) and i quickly got dressed, fed the dogs, and got ready for the turkey trot!

my mom and i signed up for the two-mile walk together and my aunt and uncle joined us!

my mom brought hoss.

i brought jake.

and my aunt & uncle brought their dogs, moose & squirrel!

the walk was really fun! we saw a lot of people we knew and it was fun having the dogs with us!

after the turkey trot, i showered and got ready in record time. brad and i headed out by 10am to get to his grandma’s house in time for our 11am thanksgiving meal.

i forgot to take a photo, but there was delicious turkey, two kinds of stuffing, veggies, and much more. then we settled in to watch the packers beat detroit and go to 11-0 this season!!! it was such a fun game with so many people cheering with us!

after the game, we headed to my grandma’s house back near manitowoc for round 2 of thanksgiving.

i filled my plate with old favorites and some delicious new treats too!

a roll with butter to eat with my ham, green bean casserole, mashed potatoes, asian salad, stuffing with gravy, and candied brussels sprouts and yams (new additions this year!).

i also snacked on lots of fresh veggies from the veggie tray.

brad and i headed home around 8pm to take a nap in preparation of our black friday adventures…

friday

we woke up around 11pm thursday night and hopped in the car to get to best buy in green bay for some sales!

we got to the store around 12:15am and had to wait in line for about 15 minutes. once we were inside, i power-walked to the back of the store to get in the check-out line while brad went and gathered our purchases!

we got that new tv.

we also picked up a blue-ray player for my parents, some games for brad (he kept 2, and 2 of them are christmas presents from my parents that he’ll get on dec. 25), and a super cool gamer headset (sense the sarcasm) that brad wanted from me for christmas.

we got back to my mom’s around 2am and got about 5 more hours of sleep.

i did a bit more shopping on friday afternoon (kohls!) and then we had to come back to madison because brad had to work saturday.

friday was spent driving, unpacking, cake baking, and setting up the tv, etc.

saturday & sunday

brad worked saturday morning while i decorated the cake.

the rest of the weekend was busy busy with two meals eaten out and a bit more shopping (marshalls this time!). we also watched the badgers win (yay big 10 championship-bound!) and played a rousing game of cranium!

i took a 3 hours nap yesterday afternoon and then tackled my inbox and other tasks that i needed to get done before heading back to work today…

and that was my weekend!

probably way more detail than you needed or wanted to know, but oh well.

***

now i’m mentally preparing myself for a busy and productive week at work! i have plenty to do there and at home. at least i won’t have to cook for the next couple days with all of the leftovers we have in our refrigerator!

*****

how was your long weekend? relaxing? or busy busy?

even though my weekend was busy, i made sure to take time and just enjoy being with friends and family!

what’s your favorite thanksgiving food?

this year, my favorites were the yams and brussels sprouts! they were delicious & i love my veggies!

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in capone, dinner, food, jake, ramblings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to no rest for the thankful

  1. Phew girl you were busy! But I am glad you managed to spend some time with family and have a bit of relaxation time! Mine was pretty busy, but I was also lazy a lot of the time haha

  2. Hahaha that’s how I feel about the weekend sometimes. Its like I need a weekend to recover from my weekend! It looks like you had a great time though! 🙂

  3. Dorry says:

    Sounds incredibly busy, but really fun, too! My weekend was so busy – I worked Fri/Sat/Sun, but I’m thankful for a job I love with wonderful people. And we had a lovely lazy night at home on Saturday night. 🙂 I love green beans and sweet potatoes! Oh, and pumpkin pie.

  4. I can’t wait to see all the boys!!! 🙂 I miss them!

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

