cake fail

actually, the cake is delicious.

more like, cake decorating fail…

i have an event tonight that requires a cake. and somehow i was put in charge of making that cake (red velvet by request).

i’m not sure how this responsibility fell to me because, while i can definitely put together a great entree or side dish, baking scares the crap out of me.

especially baking for other people.

a recipe i’ve never tried before.

ahhhhhh.

so, i made the cake last night so it’d be nice and cool to frost this morning!

then i got up, let me frosting ingredients soften, then whipped up some cream cheese frosting.

i always use this ubiquitous recipe that i have no idea of it’s actual origin. it’s the one that my college bff taught me!

cream cheese frosting

  • 1 8-oz. package cream cheese, softened
  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

mix all ingredients together and you’re good to go!

hmmm, except that for some reason, i could not get the frosting to thicken up like it usually does. i went through all of my powdered sugar trying to get my desired texture, and then i decided to just try to decorate it and hope for the best!

i cut the top off of the bottom layer to make a flat base for the top layer (i need to work on my cake cutting skills – the cake it totally crooked) and then spread the filling on top of the bottom layer, put the top layer on, and then did a quick crumb layer of frosting.

the cake and the frosting went into the fridge to firm up for about a half hour, and then i got to work on trying to decorate…

i used this piping set for my decorating.. i grabbed it at michaels’s the other way after i found out i had to make this cake!

i got to work and was seriously bummed. the frosting was way too runny and i couldn’t get the frosting colors to come out the way i wanted them.

but, i tried to make it work and this is what i ended up with…

eh. i hope she likes it!

at least it tastes good!

*****

have you ever decorated a cake?

any tips to help me improve my skills?

i was wishing i at least had some sprinkles to brighten the cake up, but i was all out after using them up in my last batch of cashew butter. bummer…

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in food, ramblings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to cake fail

  1. Katie says:

    Aw, I think it looks decent! And, once you cut it and people start eating it, it won’t even matter 😉

  2. Wish that cake was for me! I think you did a great job. I need to improve my frosting and cake decorating skills too. Hope it tastes yummy!

  3. hmmm maybe your butter got a little too soft? it still looks great though!

  4. I would not call this a fail at all! I think it looks great!!

  5. Aww, it doesn’t look all that bad. And really as long as it tastes good, you are in the clear ’cause that’s way more important! 😉

  6. Sure doesn’t LOOK like a fail! I always have trouble getting my frosting to thicken up too! I don’t know what it is. But that cake looks awesome and I bet it tasted great!

    I hope you had a great thanksgiving!

  7. Chelsea says:

    That looks way better than anything I’ve ever made! I bet it was delicious, too. I love red velvet cake with cream cheese icing.

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

