maharani indian restaurant

last saturday night, to continue the weekend of eating out, brad and i joined a group of friends at maharani. we were celebrating my lab-mate passing her first preliminary exam – she is halfway to being a dissertator!

now, i love indian food. the first time i tried it was during my second year of grad school (side note: how on earth am i in my fourth year of grad school?!? insanity…). my friend, m, choose maharani for her birthday celebration dinner. i had no idea what to order, but someone, knowing my love for cheese, suggested i order shahi paneer. thank goodness i took her advice because it is now my absolute favorite indian meal!

but let’s back up.

full disclosure: we paid for this meal entirely on our own and i was not compensated in any way for this blog post. as always, this review reflects my honest opinions.

we had quite a large group, so we had a reservation and our table was ready and waiting for us when we arrived at the restaurant.

we were immediately served water and the indian version of bringing a bread basket.

want the truth? i have no clue what the dipping sauces or the bread/crisps are called. and i don’t care – they are delicious!

i had to try each sauce…twice.

brad and i also knew that we would definitely get naan.

at maharani, you have many flavors to choose from. we went with cheese naan. duh.

(and i didn’t even pause to snap a picture before digging in, hence only 3 pieces left when i finally did it…)

as i mentioned before, i ordered the shahi paneer, as always!

mmm. so creamy and cheesy and not healthy at all!

brad got lamb vindaloo curry.

we both went with the “hot” level of spiciness.

i like to sweat and have burning lips when i eat indian food!

i’m not sure what everyone else at the table got. i was too busy inhaling my food! there were lots of satisfied people and empty plates at the end of the meal, so i’ll go ahead and say that everyone else liked it too. Smile

i’ve only eaten at 3 or 4 indian restaurants, but maharani is by far my favorite! everyone is very friendly and accomodating.

plus, students get a 10% discount! that makes my bank account happy.

i highly recommend maharani to anyone and everyone!

Maharani Indian Restaurant on Urbanspoon

*****

what’s your favorite indian food?

do you like it spicy?

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in dinner, food, restaurant reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to maharani indian restaurant

  1. Chelsea says:

    I’ve been there a couple times for the lunch buffet. My favorite Indian food is Saag Paneer. It looks nasty but is sooooo good. And I love the purple dipping sauce they bring out at the beginning. It’s tamarind flavor.

  2. I love Indian food, but I’ve never been there. Blogger meet-up at Maharani!!! 😀

  3. Ken says:

    Madison has several very good Indian restaurants which is a pleasant surprise.
    Swagat is smaller, but happens to have the same owners as Maharani.
    I would suggest trying the west side Maharaja too which is my favorite.

  4. Aparna E. says:

    I hail from Ann Arbor, MI and there are a few Indian places to eat in town! Being Indian myself, I do love the food 🙂 I’m south Indian so my mom always cooks up dosa (Indian-style crepe) stuffed with potato curry, and idli (rice cakes) served with sambar (a thicker, spicier version of dal).
    As far as north Indian food goes, what DON’T I like is the better question 🙂 haha. I love all kinds of the food! Mattar paneer, navratam korma, channa masala, naan, the list goes on and on!
    Nice review 🙂

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

