lazy jane’s cafe and bakery

i feel like last weekend was the weekend of eating out. it was definitely delicious, but i’m happy to be back to my normal home-cooked meals!

one of those delicious meals out was breakfast on saturday morning.

after we finished at the farmers’ market, katie and i headed to lazy jane’s bakery and cafe for breakfast! we were up early, so we beat the crowds! we arrived around 8:30am and by the time we left around 9:45, the line was growing. there is often a line out the door of the cafe later in the morning on weekends.

full disclosure: we paid for this meal entirely on our own and i was not compensated in any way for this blog post. as always, this review reflects my honest opinions.

i had heard only great things about lazy jane’s and it was high on my list, so i was really pumped to get to finally try it!

as soon as i saw it, i was in love. is it not absolutely adorable?!

i loved the scrabble letter sign.

you order at the counter, so katie and i walked in and immediately started trying to pick which of all of the delicious-sounding options was the most appealing. we also has plenty of time to take in the stocked bakery display.

i ended up getting coffee to drink.

and a frittata with veggies and asiago cheese with wheat berry bread and potatoes on the side.

everything was absolutely delicious. i so didn’t want to stop eating, but i finally had to leave just a bit of my frittata and bread. i couldn’t eat it all!

katie also really liked her breakfast. (i don’t remember what she got!).

remember how i mentioned that bakery case? well, everything looked too good to pass up, so i ordered a raspberry lemon scone and a brie, cranberry, and apple croissant to bring home and share with brad.

and both of them were gone within ~20 minutes of walking in the door.

it is now a personal goal to try every single flavor of scone they offer.

i know i can do it.

Lazy Jane's Cafe & Bakery on Urbanspoon

lazy jane’s may just be my new favorite breakfast spot in madison! i can’t wait to take brad there. Smile

*****

what’s your favorite breakfast option?

i usually go with eggs when i’m out to eat, oats or yogurt for weekdays, and waffles or egg sandwiches for weekend breakfasts at home!

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in breakfast, food, restaurant reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to lazy jane’s cafe and bakery

  1. Oh my gosh the scrabble letter sign is so adorable! I would totally go there simply for that reason!

  2. Ah I love Lazy Janes! Best scones everrrrrr

  3. Jessica says:

    For some reason, I never crave eggs for breakfast…I’m all about sweet! If I go out, I almost always stick with pancakes, french toast or waffles….with whipped cream!

  4. Trying every scone flavor sounds like a phenomenal goal. I wish I could help! 🙂

    At home I like oatmeal or protein shakes (especially after working out first thing). When I’m out I love eggs… and I my guilty pleasure… chocolate chip waffles from Waffle House.

  5. How cute! Totally in love with the scrabble letters!

    If I’m eating out, I always like to get biscuits and gravy…I never make gravy at home so it’s always a special treat when I’m out. As for breakfast at home, my favorites are eggs, French toast, and of course, pancakes! 😉

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

