friday night at bluephies

as soon as katie and i started discussing our plans for her visit, i knew i wanted to take her to a great restaurant on friday night – and i selfishly wanted to try somewhere i had never been before!

i’ve heard good things about bluephies since i moved to madison, but had somehow managed not to go until this weekend (even brad had been there before!). i was very excited when katie gave me full decision-making duties for dinner.

bluephies it was!

full disclosure: we paid for this meal entirely on our own and i was not compensated in any way for this blog post. as always, this review reflects my honest opinions.

we arrived around 7 or a little later on a friday night, so i wasn’t surprised when we were told we’d have a 20-minute wait. katie and i just had a seat and chatted until our table was ready – after waiting only 10 minutes! love when that happens.

we were immediately brought some water and warm rolls with sun-dried tomato and kalamata olive butter.

the rolls were fresh from the oven and delicious – crusty on the outside and soft and doughy inside. the butter had great flavor – more olive than tomato in my opinion.

we also both got wine!

(grr. blurry picture…)

a malbec (conquista) sounded good to both of us. it tasted good too!

then we got down to the business of ordering.

i went with the grilled portobello sandwich.

seriously, if there is grilled portobello anything on a menu, i have to get it. i also upgraded my side to the tater tots. but these are not your average tater tots. the waitress described them as “grown-up tots”. they are homemade with gouda and served with a delicious and slightly spicy sauce. they were worth the upgrade.

katie got something that i was eyeing up on the menu as well.

the black bean and goat cheese enchiladas. she liked them, but said she wished they were more goat cheese-y. brad enjoyed the leftovers!

i also ordered a meal to bring home to brad. (he stayed at home and let katie and i have a girls’ night!).

he requested the cheesy pork and mac sandwich, which is basically a grilled cheese with mac & cheese and pulled pork on it. i also upgraded him to the tots because i knew he’d love them.

the final word from us on bluephies? love.

and we will be back to try their cookie dough egg rolls and so many other delicious-sounding entrees! the price was right on & they even have a tuesday night date night special that i’m tempted to try out.

bluephies gets two thumbs up from me.

Bluephies Restaurant & Vodkatorium on Urbanspoon

*****

what is something that always calls to you on a restaurant menu?

i am a sucker for mushroom entrees!

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in dinner, food, restaurant reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to friday night at bluephies

  1. ahhh, I miss Bluephies so much! We are taking a day trip to Madison around New Year’s, and I can’t wait to go back. Other dishes you should try: The spinach enchiladas (our favorite of the enchilada flavors), the mac and cheese, jambalaya quesadilla, and cookie dough egg rolls (duh). Mmmm.

  2. Yummm! I’m actually not a huge mushroom fan but i LOVE tots 😉 hehe

  3. i loooove mushrooms too… but i ALWAY LOSE to the calories… if it is to high and the cals arent good cals, i will pass it up… unless im over due for a treat!

  4. LOVE Bluephies! It was one of the first restaurants I went to when I moved to Madison. I had that pulled pork & mac sandwich at Taste of Madison. So good!

  5. Katie says:

    Yay, glad to hear my leftovers went to good use!! 🙂

  6. Jessica says:

    That sandwich looks delicious! If I go to a restaurant and a portobello sandwich is on the menu, I always have to order it!

  7. I want to try their cookie dough egg rolls too! I’ve heard they are awesome. All of the dishes you guys ordered look sooo delicious!

  8. Girl, you seriously have me wanting to move to Madison now! Everything looks so flippin good! And those tater tots? Shut the front door!

    When I’m eating out, I’m always drawn to new-to-me fish dishes. A couple of summers ago when I was vacationing in St. Augustine, FL, I got to try swordfish for the first time and it was amazing!

  9. Chelsea says:

    Pretty much anything “grilled vegetable”. I can’t believe you hadn’t been to Bluephies before. I love that place! (I think I love every place, haha).

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

