influenced by deliciousness

yesterday’s dinner was influenced once again by a blog post i read early yesterday morning from my friend, emily.

seriously, this always happens to me! good thing i follow a lot of delicious food blogs to get ideas and keep a stocked fridge + pantry so i actually have ingredients to make these meals on a whim.

yesterday, i saw that emily had posted about some veggie stuffed peppers that she made recently.

well what do you know?

i had two green bell peppers sitting in our refrigerator.

and some ground turkey that i needed to use up.

and after some scrounging i found a half used bag of trader joe’s fire roasted corn.

and this.

i bought these philadelphia cooking cremes (i got 2 of them) when i had a crazy coupon deal and ended up paying like $0.13 for each of them. and i love cream cheese. and i’m a semi-lazy cook. so of course these made sense for me to try!

(let’s pretend they didn’t sit in the refrigerator for almost a month, ok?)

anyway, i had an idea and i ran with it!

i hollowed out my peppers (badly).

cooked up the stuffing!

  • ground turkey with taco seasoning
  • black beans
  • fire roasted corn from trader joe’s
  • 1 small red onion, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • ~1/2 cup short grain brown rice
  • 1/2 container philadelphia santa fe blend cooking creme

then i stuffed that in my peppers (i had lots of leftover stuffing which will be used again in lunches this week!).

peppers went in the over (covered with tin foil) at 350* for 20 minutes and were then promptly devoured!

i love how these are absolutely packed full of vegetables, lean protein, and whole grains. my favorite kind of meal! 🙂

***

cute jake photo just because…..

***

it is dreary dreary dreary here in madison today! 😦 boo. i totally feed off of the weather for my moods, so i’m going to have to work extra hard to keep things positive today…

hope it’s nice & sunny where you are!

***

p.s. clare is having a cookbook giveaway on her blog – go enter!

*****

tell me something that made you smile recently!

whenever i walk into a room to see jake & capone snuggling, i can’t help but melt!

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in dinner and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to influenced by deliciousness

  1. Dorry says:

    way to get creative in the kitchen! I love stuffed peppers. I need to pick up some red bell peppers (my personal fave) next time I’m at the store. 🙂

  2. Omg this sounds delicious!!!! Now I’m starving! 🙂

  3. 🙂 Looks great sar!!
    Baking in my classes makes me smile! 🙂

  4. I am just now sitting down to read this after a crazy week…you’re stuffed peppers fillings sound so good! I’m so glad that you made them 🙂

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

