apples to apples

remember when brad and i went apple picking?

well i made two delicious treats from all the apples & i still haven’t told you about them!

i got inspiration for both recipes from the pick your own website.

first up was applesauce! (i also used this recipe for guidance because i wanted to use the slow cooker…)

i used the jonagold apples in the first batch and a mix of those and the ida reds in the second.

(side note: i cut up the first batch by hand and then when i was complaining to liz about what a pain it was, she asked why i didn’t just use my food processor? apparently, a lot of food processors come with a slicing attachment. i had no idea! i used it for the second batch and probably shaved a half hour off of my preparation time. crazy.)

both batches turned out perfectly pink!

i had to make two batches (which used up most of the apples…) because the second thing i made needed a whole batch of applesauce as it’s starting ingredients….apple butter!

i also used the slow cooker for this recipe.

both the apple sauce and the apple butter were so easy to make! i’m not sure why i was so nervous…

i didn’t can either item since i didn’t really end up with very much of either. the applesauce went into jars in the fridge and it’s almost gone. one jar of apple butter went in the fridge and it’s almost gone and the other two little jars are frozen.

we used up any leftover apples in fresh juice! i think we’re going to need to pick more next year…. Winking smile

***

today is another work from home day! i’m glad i’m feeling much better than i was on wednesday!

i have a semi-self imposed deadline on a manuscript draft revision of november 1, so i’ll be working hard on that today!

*****

did you know that food processors can slice things?

this was a huge revelation for me!

have you ever made applesauce or apple butter?

this was my first time for both, but it won’t be my last!

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to apples to apples

  1. i just made a big batch of cinnamon crockpot applesauce. i just cut my apples into quarters instead of slicing them. makes the sauce a little chunkier but i don’t mind 🙂

  2. Dorry says:

    So impressed with both recipes! You’ve totally inspired me to make my own applesauce – I love it mixed into my oats.

  3. Katie says:

    I love your apple butter pictures!

  4. Mmmm… yum! We used to make applesauce all the time when I lived at home. I want to try my hand at apple butter, though!

  5. Yay! I’m so so smart! Looks yummy Sarah!! a couple or 4… of years ago I would have never thought you had this in you! 🙂 Love you Lady!

  6. I like the new look of your blog! And your apple photos look divine!

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

