the great coffee debate

this post seems a bit funny to post now, as i’m not sure how i could get through this conference without coffee, but oh well. this debate has been going through my head for a couple weeks now and i want to know your thoughts…

i think national coffee day really pushed this debate to the front of my mind!

it might come as a bit of a surprise that i’ve been debating the presence of coffee in my life.

yes, that’s right. me, who admittedly drinks 2+ massive mugs of coffee every morning without fail.

who just sang praises over this at-home pumpkin spice latte.

i know i’m addicted to caffeine.

it’s happened many times before in my life.

i’ll start by having a small cup of coffee a couple mornings a week.

then it becomes daily.

and before i know it i’m throwing back coffee like it’s water and even drinking a cup at 9pm has no effect on my ability to sleep at night because i’ve bombarded my body with so much caffeine it doesn’t even notice a little extra at the end of the day.

then i’ll go through the slow, painful process of weaning myself off of it. or heaven forbid, go cold turkey and suffer through 2-5 days of debilitating caffeine headaches.

despite the pain and effort it takes to become un-addicted, i’ll forget about that hassle and 3 months later i’ll be back on the coffee train.

now, i’m not saying there is anything wrong with drinking coffee.

personally, i love how coffee tastes.

and the ritual of a morning cup of coffee is comforting to me.

but, i think i know it’s not the best thing in the world for me.

i realized as i was debating my coffee habit with myself, that i wasn’t sure about the con’s or really any actual pro’s to drinking coffee. so, i headed to the interwebs to do a bit of research.

here’s what i found.

coffee pro’s:

  • rich in antioxidants
  • protects against type 2 diabetes
  • may protect against liver cirrhosis in those at high risk for liver disease
  • protect against gallstones
  • reduce the risk of parkinson’s disease
  • prevent development of colon cancer
  • improve cognitive function
  • improve endurance in long-duration physical activities
  • a newly discovered pro – coffee drinkers are less likely to be depressed!

coffee con’s:

  • some compounds found in coffee are linked with heart disease
  • heavy coffee consumption increases total and ldl (bad) cholesterol
  • blood vessel constriction
  • irregular heartbeats (i’ve experienced this one…)
  • can increase blood pressure
  • caffeine is a mild addictive stimulant
  • negative effects tend to emerge in excessive drinking

(information on pro’s & con’s found here and here)

ok. some pro’s. some con’s. it’s hard to make a definitely case completely for or against coffee drinking.

i hate being addicted to anything. even if it’s just coffee.

i guess what all of this rambling results in is:

i don’t want to be addicted to coffee/caffeine.

so, i’ve been toying with thoughts of quitting the coffee habit. not yet (it’s definitely necessary to get me through this conference at this point…). but soon.

***

where do you stand on the great coffee debate?

do you drink coffee?

p.s. don’t forget to enter my cookbook giveaway!!

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in ramblings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to the great coffee debate

  1. I love coffee. I don’t think it’s going anywhere. Considering my biggest vice is the occasional diet coke, I think I’ll be alright. 😉

  2. I have never liked coffee (but I love the smell), so it’s one ‘vice’ I don’t have to grapple with. Sugar, however, is another story.

  3. I will never give up my coffee.

  4. janetha says:

    not gonna lie, i scrolled over the coffee con list. i don’t wanna know!

  5. janetha says:

    not gonna lie, i scrolled over the coffee cons list. i dont wanna know! (also if this is a duplicate, sorry, it wouldn’t let me post!)

  6. ooooh good luck with that if you decide to quit! i drink a small cup most mornings but i can just as easily go without!

  7. I LOVE coffee! I have one cup every morning, and it makes me happy.
    My husband has it twice a day (once in the morning, once in the afternoon). We joke that he’s addicted – but you know what?! There’s worse things to be addicted to in my opinion! 🙂

  8. Mac says:

    Big coffee drinker here… I have at least one cup a day, and if I had more money I would probably buy 3 drinks a day from Starbucks. I say coffee is just fine in moderation, aka 1-2 medium sized cups a day, and if you don’t buy the 1,000,000 calorie drinks from coffee shops.

  9. Chelsea says:

    I would not be able to run in the morning without coffee! Just the thought makes me want to cry :).

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

