i scream

for ice cream!!!

DSCN2451

how’s everyone doing on this lovely thursday (i just typed tuesday – thank goodness it’s not tuesday…)? unfortunately, i’m not feeling great. i woke up yesterday with a sore throat, and it’s feeling worse this morning. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ i slept in a bit today (then fought a ridiculously full bus and a rude seatmate to get to work this morning), but i don’t think it helped me feel better. any suggestion for a sore throat? i’ve gargled warm salt water, drink copious amount of tea, and avoided straining my voice. anything else?

anyway, today i want to talk about one of our super fun wedding gifts that brad and i tried out recently!

one of the most fun things about the wedding registry, to me, was to pick a couple completely unnecessary, major unitasker, items that we just wanted and definitely didnโ€™t need.

one of those things for us was an ice cream maker! Smile

DSCN2448

my lovely friend eve from my sorority at wash u so nicely gifted brad and i the ice cream maker (with candy crusher) from our registry.

DSCN2449

you guys know i was pumped to break this bad boy in!

confession: we actually made this ice cream 3 weeks ago and iโ€™m just now telling you about it. oops!

since it was our first time making home made ice cream, we decided to play it safe and exactly follow the recipe for vanilla ice cream. so we i gathered up the ingredients.

DSCN2440

mixed them all together.

DSCN2439

chilled them in the fridge for a half hour (or an hour and a half until brad got home from workโ€ฆ.).

poured them in the machine and turned it on to do itโ€™s work!

DSCN2450

ok, so we didnโ€™t really follow the recipe exactly. we wanted to use the candy crusher attachment too! i grabbed a couple krackle bars that were left from our candy buffet and crunched them into the ice cream.

DSCN2452

finished product: slightly mushy, but delicious! Smile

weโ€™re definitely going to branch out a bit next time and try something adventurous! thereโ€™s evenย  a recipe toย  make margaritas or pina coladas in the ice cream maker! fancy, huh?

*****

have you ever made homemade ice cream?

iโ€™ve only ever made it using a ball filled with salt & ice. we do that at the garden with the kids for a fun treat!

please, if you have a good recipe for ice cream with an ice cream maker on your blog, help a girl out and link to it pleeeeeaaaassseeee!! as holly says, sharing is caring!

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to i scream

  1. Um, hello – I have PLENTY on my blog! ๐Ÿ˜‰ No, the best I have made is vanilla bean frozen custard. It takes a bit more work with the eggs, but it’s totally worth it in the end. (It should be linked in my recipe tab.) I am planning on making a pumpkin custard soon too, but don’t know when I’ll get around to it.

  2. eeee! i just got my mom’s ice cream maker and i’m so excited! i used to make strawberry “smoothie” type things in it all the time when i was little!

  3. Kelly says:

    I’ve only made ice cream in our ice cream maker a couple of times. We did make a good Oreo ice cream though. I’m on the road so I don’t have a link handy but it should be on my blog somewhere ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. FUN! We registered for an ice cream maker attachment for our mixer, but you are right they are totally just for fun and not exactly necessary… ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I got an ice cream maker this summer at Costco – the countertop kind – and would you believe that it’s still in the box?? I need to open it up and get cranking! I’ve seen some really yummy sounding coconut milk ice cream recipes I’d like to try.

  6. I want to get an ice cream maker attachment for my Kitchen Aid.
    My favorite recipe is one from my mom for Lemon Frozen Yogurt. It was SOOO good. Alas, I can’t find it. But here is a link to one that is super similar if you omit the food coloring!
    http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Frozen-Lemon-Yogurt

  7. I need to use my ice cream maker more often! I’ve only used it a few times (I think the last time was a year ago!). You’ve inspired me! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Mac says:

    An ice cream maker would be an AWESOME gift! Wish I had one so I could make every flavor under the sun! Enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Laura says:

    Take ibuprofen! It will reduce the swelling and pain – feel better!

  10. Chelsea says:

    We are supposed to get my in-laws ice cream maker. We do frozen yogurt = yogurt + frozen fruit in the food processor, but it can get icy. I think we really need the machine to take it to the next level.

  11. Ahh I LOVE using my ice cream maker… Terry and I were just talking about busting it out again!! My favorite that I’ve made was mint chocolate chip, and Terry just put in a request for chocolate chip cookie dough. Also, I just bought some amazing pumpkin butter last time I was up in Door County, and I’ve been brainstorming some sort of pumpkin-y concoction…

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

