what i ate [working from home] wednesday

wow, it’s been a while since i’ve had to compose a post from the actual wordpress dashboard and not in windows live writer…it’s weird! i was a lazy girl this morning and didn’t blog before i left for work, so i’m writing this from the lab!

it’s ok, though, because i know exactly what i’m going to blog about today – it’s what i ate wednesday, after all! 🙂

yesterday’s meals were a little special since i worked from home. you actually get pretty(er) pictures instead of iphone photos shot of food sitting on my desk.

breakfast was hot oats!

i didn’t change anything up with this at all. my regular old hot oats with:

  • 20g rolled oats
  • 10g oat bran
  • 6g ground flax (~1 tbsp)
  • 6g chia seeds (~1 tbsp)
  • 1/3 cup vanilla almond milk
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 medium banana

all heated and whisked together on the stove and topped with:

  • 1c very berry cherry blend
  • 15g almond butter (~2 tbsp)
  • 10g homemade rhubarb and strawberry jam (~1 tbsp)

i also had coffee


and kombucha!


wonderful breakfast. 🙂

***

lunch was leftovers from the night before – green enchilada pie!

it was just as delicious the next day!

***

dinner was very late last night (at least for me!). brad ended up working super late and didn’t get home until 8:15! good thing i’m an awesome wife and had dinner all ready for him – i even grilled all by myself (huge milestone). 

yesterday heather posted a delicious-looking chili recipe and mentioned that she served it with a side of roasted potatoes, which made me crave them like none other.

so i decided that roasted potatoes were going to be our side dish last night! i did pretty much the same thing as her: tossed in e.v.o.o. and rosemary, thyme, garlic gold sea salt nuggets, and pepper and then roasted at 425* for ~45 minutes.

but what were they on the side of?

salad beasts topped with turkey burgers!

not just any turkey burgers, though… goat cheese turkey burgers!

i added ~10 oz. 93/7 ground turkey, ~2tbsp ranch dressing mix, ~1/4c breadcrumbs, ~1tbsp worchestershire sauce, and ~1/3c goat cheese crumbles. all mixed together and formed into patties!

we were both so hungry by the time we ate and this was a delicious, filling, veggie-riffic dinner! i couldn’t even finish my potatoes so i get them again for lunch today! 🙂

***

and there you have it – another day of my meals! i wasn’t really snacky yesterday, so that really is pretty much what i ate all day minus about 5 baby pickles around 3pm.

***

on the schedule for today: work! i’m finishing up a presentation that i have to give at a conference in a couple weeks. my adviser is going to be travelling from friday until after the presentation, so i need to get his input  on the presentation today.

*****

have you watched any new fall tv shows yet?

the biggest loser started last night! i honestly didn’t watch the whole thing – not sure how i feel about anna kournikova being a trainer now. i did see the ending, though.

and glee is waiting for me on my dvr (the husband refuses to watch it with me, so i just save it for the couple hours i’m home in the afternoons before he gets done with work. 🙂

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in food, meals, wiaw and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to what i ate [working from home] wednesday

  1. That enchilada pie looks delicious! 🙂

  2. everything sounds delicious! i made roasted potatoes last night too! so good! and kudos on grilling by yourself!!!

  3. Wow, what a great looking day of food, I want your dinner!

  4. Lauren says:

    Goat cheese turkey burgers?! I actually don’t like turkey burgers, but adding goat cheese might change my mind 🙂 I’m always proud of myself when I use the grill on my own and don’t burn anything. I’m pretty sure my boyfriend is recording every new fall show! We watched Glee last night. I’ve always been a huge fan, but the storyline is getting so old to me and I swear they sing less and less every season. I’m giving it two more episodes before it goes in the trash.

  5. Shannon says:

    Yum! I love hot oats for breakfast especially when its cold out!
    Yay, congrats on grilling by yourself! Thats still something I have to try 😀

  6. Yay for grilling, definitely on my list of things to learn! You should watch the show “the new girl”…its new for fall and is hilarious!

  7. I love grilled veggies!

    Would you believe I am not into a single Fall tv show. I watch tv don’t get me wrong but nothing consistently. I’m a freak!

  8. Dorry says:

    those roasted potatoes look so delicious! Billy is the TV watcher in this house – I just sit on the couch next to him with my laptop. 🙂

  9. wow those roasted potatoes look delicious! I always love mine with rosemary.
    oats!! I’ve never tried banana whipped up in mine, I usually just do plain oats topped with fruit with nut butter to dip on the side.

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

