101 in 1001: number 37

i got a mani/pedi!

honestly, i can’t even remember the last time i pampered myself like that – hence having it on my 101 list!

what better occasion to check this one off the list than for my & brad’s wedding?!

my mom, liz, and i made our appointments at tlc nails in manitowoc for the thursday before the wedding.

we brought wine…

it was skinnygirl sangria, which was surprisingly delicious! 🙂 it was awesome that the salon let us drink the wine during our pedicures. i enjoyed that treat!

i knew i didn’t want the typical light pink or french tips (even though the lady doing my nails tried to convince me to do it…). nope. i love dark nails and that’s what i got!

i tried the new-ish shellac nail polish. it cost $15 extra, but wow – it’s totally worth it! (at least to me – brad wasn’t thrilled with how much it cost, but men don’t really understand this kind of thing…).

they guarantee 2 weeks chip free. well, it definitely met that guarantee and then some! this stuff is amazing! since i don’t get manicures often, i think i might have to be a shellac convert. a manicure that lasts 2+ weeks versus maybe 3 days is totally worth $15 more! don’t you think???

***

and, since our wedding colors were blue & purple. and since purple was my color of the two, i got purple toes!

with a fun line of rhinestones on my big toes (which cost $5 extra and i didn’t find out until we paid the bill – wtf.). oh well, i guess it was worth it for my once-in-a-lifetime day! 🙂 definitely wouldn’t do that for pretty much any other even though…

it was so nice to take a little time out of the craziness of wedding prep to relax with my mom and liz!

*****

do you get manicures or pedicures often?

they are such a treat to me! i used to do it more often when i was in college because it was fun to go with my roommates every now and then. i don’t think i like getting them by myself though. i like them as a social occasion!

although, brad’s mom gets her nails done every two weeks and they always look beautiful! i think i’d have to get better at not ruining them before i would do it more often.

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in 101 in 1001, wedding. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 101 in 1001: number 37

  1. pretty! i’m getting a shellac manicure in about an hour 🙂 can’t wait! i used to have fake nails and loved them but they’re just to darn expensive!

  2. Chelsea says:

    I get a pedicure occasionally. I’m going to have to try the Shellac manicure sometime… maybe for Christmas.

  3. I LOVE shellac! I’m a total addict. I get mani/pedis far more often than I should (read between lines…afford). I figure pampering myself is cheaper than therapy so it’s worth it!

  4. So pretty! I didn’t know the shellac lasted so long! I’m with ya, girl. I hardly ever get my nails done (3 times in my life so far, haha!) so paying a little extra to have them guaranteed to last 2+ weeks is a definite winner!

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

