my first wiaw as a married woman

i’m late i’m late!

eek – i’m posting so late this morning! i was a busy bee at home before work, so i had to wait until now to write my post.

this morning before leaving the house i…

  • brewed sweet tea to make kombucha tonight
  • rinsed and got some beans soaking so i can cook them tonight
  • put away dishes
  • uploaded photos onto my computer

and all of that was in addition to my normal shower/feed capone & take him to do his business/pack breakfast & lunch/etc. of my normal routine! πŸ™‚

whew. i’m already tired. good thing today is a special edition of what i ate wednesday – my first wednesday as a married lady!!

too bad i don’t have very exciting food to show you…

breakfast

typical lab breakfast.

ugly oats with very berry cherry and some peanut butter and a side of coffee.

***

lunch

lunch was such a random mish-mash of things thrown together! i didn’t go grocery shopping until after work yesterday, so i didn’t have much to choose from!

pizza that was leftover from the late night snack at the wedding, snap pea crisps (vegetables?!), and an apple. it was a surprisingly satisfying lunch though – so that’s good!!

***

dinner

ok, now we’re to the good stuff! πŸ™‚ i had a fit of “i need to be a good wife and cook some delicious dinners” (read – not warm up frozen foods anymore) yesterday, and made a pretty drool-inducing meal plan for this week.

first up was jessica’s easy beer mac & cheese. it had something for everyone!

cheese? hello lover.

beer? i think brad about died when he realized i put beer in his dinner.

go over to her site to see beautiful photos of this meal. mine aren’t as pretty.

i was silly and thought we had elbow macaroni at home, so i didn’t buy any at the store. of course we don’t have any, so i summed out whole wheat penne for the elbow mac.

that is the only change i made other than dusting the top with a little lawry’s and some garlic powder.

yum. we had potato fries on the side as our vegetable.

and writing this all up made me realize that i really need to work on getting some greens in our bellies today…

***

anyway, that’s what married sarah’s meals look like. i think i’m ok with it! πŸ™‚

*****

have you ever cooked with beer?

i have my eye on ashley’s beer fries next…

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in meals, wiaw and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to my first wiaw as a married woman

  1. I’ve made chili with beer, but never mac and cheese…

    Happy first married WIAW!!

  2. liZ says:

    I think married sarah sounds like she cooks the same as the not married sar! Looks delish my dear! That is ony my starred items! Worthy? Looks like it!!

  3. sounds delicious! i used beer in my first tofu marinade…and in my flatbread crackers πŸ™‚

  4. I cooked with beer for the first time this year–I made beer bread (so good) and beer battered tofu, which was so yummy.

    A belated congrats on your wedding!

  5. maria says:

    I make beer brats when we tailgate at Miller Park. I boil them in a flavorful beer, onions, garlic and pepper. They are delightful!

  6. Chelsea says:

    I’ve used beer in soup/stew and bread but never in mac and cheese!

  7. Looks like the mac was a success then? Wonderful πŸ™‚
    I love the idea of your oats. Is the very berry a jam?

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

