back to lab meals

happy wednesday! (aka happy 10 days until the wedding!). are you sick of those countdowns yet? sorry if you are – i’m too excited!!!

good thing i have something to talk about today – otherwise you’d hear all about the wedding mania that went down yesterday… but instead, i’ve got my day of meals from monday – aka my first day back to school lab.

breakfast was oats eaten in a jar and coffee in my thermos at my desk!

i’m bummed to have my ugly desk as the background for my breakfast/lunch photos again. ugh.

***

lunch was packed up the night before and included a salad, a green apple, cottage cheese, carrots, and horseradish hummus (it’s all gone now – i’m sad.).

i also had to dig into my snack stash right away. first thing – chocolate!


i only had one square and it was delicious!

about 3 hours later i was feeling a little grumble in the tummy, so i decided to try this new-to-me raw revolution 100 calorie bar.

it had cashews and spirulina.

it wasn’t bad after i got over the green color. but, i’m pretty sure it was this bar that turned my pee a crazy neon green later that day. has anyone else experienced that with spirulina?? it freaked me out until i remembered that i had eaten something out of the ordinary!

***

coffee has become a major staple in my life this summer. i’ve been cutting back on starbucks, but i needed a treat when i was out running errands…

a grande iced skinny vanilla latte! mmm….

***

for dinner i whipped up a variation of my portobello mushroom enchiladas. this time i kind of threw together whatever i had for the stuffing. i added diced tomatoes, red onion, red pepper, black olives, chopped mushrooms, and shredded chicken. i also put a smear of refried beans in the middle of each enchilada and added plenty of shredded cheese on top. sadly, i didn’t take any photos as i went along, but here’s what it looked like on my plate!

i also warmed up some steamfresh broccoli for some greens.

***

on a completely unrelated note – i got my hair dyed yesterday! 🙂 i love when my hair is dark, but it always fades quickly, especially when i spend a lot of time in the sun. so clearly, with the garden this summer, i’d just be throwing my money away if i dyed my hair at all in the past couple months.

but now that the garden is over, i can go dark again!!!

i love it!! i think the dark hair makes me look tan and makes my eyes pop!

it’ll probably fade a bit in the next day or two – i hadn’t washed my hair since my appointment when this picture was taken… also, don’t mind the lack of make-up. that’s how i’ve been rolling lately.

*****

i hope you all have a great wednesday!

do you dye your hair?

do you wear makeup every day?

have you had spirulina before? did it turn your pee neon?

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to back to lab meals

  1. ooooh! it definitely makes your eyes stand out. will be so pretty for the wedding! whenever i dye my hair i use the kind that washes out over x # of washes. i hate getting roots 🙂

    • Sarah says:

      mine fades out so quickly that i never get roots! but when i used to highlight my hair blonde, i definitely did end up with roots after a couple weeks – i hated it! i did not make a good blonde though – i’m definitely a brunette girl!

  2. You look fantastic! The dark hair will be such a pretty contrast with your white dress. I don’t dye my hair. I figure the grays will be here soon enough and then I’ll have to start dying, so I’ll save the money now. 🙂

    I had a similar freak out in the bathroom the first time I drank a lot of beet juice. Not green, but red, so I thought I was bleeding or something.

  3. I bought that same candy bar from TJs for the first time last week and it is probably my most favorite chocolate bar ever… it is sooooo good!!!!!!

  4. that chocolate bar from TJ’s is gooood! I’m loving the dark hair too 😀 I’ve been thinking about trying spirulina pills from TJ’s.. (after having a deep discussion about nutrition with a tj’s employee hah!) but haven’t gotten around to it yet. your enchiladas look great! Mexican is oh too good 🙂

  5. Kelly says:

    So, you’ve seen me IRL and know that my hair is pretty bright blonde. And that is the natural color, and always has been – well, it was even lighter when I was little. When I was a sophomore in high school, I decided to dye my hair……(wait for it)……brown….well, according to the box it should have been more like a reddish blonde, but really it was a reddish brown. Which when you go from having bright blonde hair, its quite a shock. My hair was so dark. And it took a really long time to fade out. Other than that, I have had highlights and things in the past, but they were always professionally done, and never my whole head! You look cute though – honestly I like both looks on you, the lighter hair definitely looks more summery and the darker looks more like fall 🙂

  6. Caitlin says:

    oh my goodness this just made me so hungry!! especially for those enchiladas!!

  7. So many things to comment on!
    LOVE the dark hair. I’m a natural blonde but have gone dark a few times, it is so fun, and definitely makes your eyes pop – gorgeous!
    Your wedding is RIGHT around the corner, so exciting! You seem really calm…tips?
    I get highlights and lowlights and yes, usually wear make up everyday. Unless I’m just at home. 🙂

  8. well hello Beautiful! 🙂

  9. i always dye my hair dark too. it does not make me look tan though, it makes me look like a ghost! but you’re gorgeous and tan and i love it! mwah!

    10 days~!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  10. Ahhhh it’s so soon!!! That’s super exciting! And I love the hair, it really does make your eyes pop! 🙂

  11. karla says:

    I love the dark hair color! I don’t dye my hair, but have been considering a splash of purple. :-). I also don’t wear make up every day. Hardly ever, really.

    I haven’t tried spirulina, but I think I’m curious now. LOL. I wonder if it will turn my pee neon. Beets definitely make a nice purple color…

  12. Beets do that to me. I always freak, without fail, for a few seconds until I realize, right, I’m not dying, I ate beets 🙂

  13. Chelsea says:

    Dark hair really does make your eyes look bluer! I don’t think I’ve ever tried spirulina before. Judging from all the beet comments, I should have paid more attention to my pee after I made those beet brownies.

  14. Your hair makes your eyes look gorgeous! And I hate that you are one of those people who look beautiful without makeup… not fair! ;o) You are going to be a beautiful bride in a week!

  15. love the hair!! i just recently went blonde!

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

