snack stash

one of the things that helps me feel normal, especially when i’m dealing with a lot of stress, is food. no, not comfort food or junk food. just normal, good for me, makes me feel good, food!

so, as i got ready to head back to lab full time yesterday, i packed up a bag of goodies to replenish my snack drawer.

i always bring breakfast and lunch to eat at lab, but more often than not, i need a little (usually 100-200 calories) snack at some point in the day, so i keep a snack drawer. i’m not sure where the willpower not to eat all of these delicious treats in one day comes from, but i am actually really good about not mindlessly snacking while i’m at work. i only grab a snack if i’m actually hungry.

so what’s in my snack drawer?

  • pretzel nuggets
  • sesame sticks (a new to me tj’s love!)
  • tea (lemon, mango, green, detox – lots of choices!)
  • chocolate covered espresso beans
  • emergency chocolate
  • raisins
  • fruit leathers
  • individual sized granola (i’m almost out of my love though! 😦 )
  • bars (soy joy, larabars, luna bars, bumble bars, & raw revolution bar)
  • i also always bring an apple to have as a pre- or post- lunch snack.

i don’t think i’ll go hungry any time soon.

*****

do you have a snack stash at work? what do you keep in it?

*i’m still looking for one or two guest post-ers for next weekend (11 days!!!). please let me know if you’re interested!

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to snack stash

  1. Mellissa says:

    My drawer is always full! Bars, protein powder, soup, tuna, dried fruit.

    I would love to guest post, I will email you a few ideas 🙂

  2. Kelly says:

    Yes! I try very hard to always have snacks at work otherwise I go crazy trying to figure out what I’m going to eat for lunch – or if I start getting hungry before I can go home and get a snack I need something there. Because hungry Kelly is not a happy girl. 🙂

  3. Chelsea says:

    I have some individual packets of trail mix from TJs- a whole, unportioned bag would be dangerous. I’d be interested in doing a guest post, but I don’t really have any ideas… Maybe something about our CSA box and how it works?

  4. Grace says:

    Since I don’t have a work I keep a snack stash in my car, purse, or back pack. It usually consist of a packed lunch with randomness and there is most likely always a luna bar in the mix!

  5. One thing I miss about working (aside from the paycheck) is the snack drawer. Plus, since I worked for food companies, there were usually ample snacks all around.

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

