trader joe’s staples and some new treats

as i mentioned, i had an awesome day yesterday! and of course, any awesome day includes a visit to trader joe’s!

one of the [very few] downsides of our new apartment is that i no longer live a 5 minute car ride or within walking distance of trader joes, which were the last cases in my two previous apartments. 😦 so sad.

well, i used to do all of my grocery shopping at tj’s, but now that’s just not very convenient or feasible, so i make do with my sporadic monthly trip there and only stock up on my tj’s staples and, of course, some new finds. it’s impossible to get out of there without trying a couple new things!

but first, every time i hit up trader joe’s, i come home with some dairy free milks!

almond milk always finds it’s way into my cart, but i like to try other kinds too. this coconut milk is new, but i’ve also tried hemp milk, soy milk, and pretty much all brands of almond milk. i’m hooked on trader joe’s brand now – it’s the cheapest! 🙂

***

nuts are another staple, especially since i’ve started making my own nut butters! sadly, that means tj’s nut butters have pretty much disappeared from my necessities list…

this savory crackers are delicious, but this is the first time i’ve tried them. tasty!

***

other common finds in my pantry:

cocoa powder

honey

cous cous

and of course the frozen goodies…

very berry cherry blend, potato fries, and the garlic naan. seriously, all of these foods are delicious and so convenient! 🙂

***

now for the new items in this weeks cart…

brad and i make a big pot of coffee every day, so we go through it pretty quickly. i like to change things up, so this week is the first time i’ve gotten our coffee at trader joe’s. we finished the last of our other coffee last night, so tomorrow’s the day to try this stuff! i’m excited. (sorry for the awful photo…the orange towel was not a good background!).

blackberry crush juice was the sample juice of the day and liz and i both really really liked it! we have big plans for this stuff….but you guys are gonna have to wait a bit longer to find out about that! 🙂

*****

my big plans for this sunday include a lot of wedding stuff, a little work, some food prep/meal planning for the week, a workout (body pump!!), a bit of relaxing, and some cleaning…

*****

what are your trader joe’s staples?

what are your plans on this lovely sunday?

do you use sundays to prepare for the week, or do you take full advantage of the weekend with a second “fun” day?!

i always think of fridays and saturdays as the “fun” days of the weekend, and then sunday is the day to get ready for another work week…

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in ramblings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to trader joe’s staples and some new treats

  1. tj’s naan is the best! i always come out with something new to try too!

  2. I’ve just recently started going to TJ’s and already have a ton of favorites. Like you, I just wish it was closer (and that I didn’t have to fight mall traffic to park at Bayshore).

  3. Hi! I can’t wait for our secret treat with the juice! It is going to be D to the Lish!!

  4. Grace says:

    I love TJ’s sauces, like Soyaki, because you just have to add a little and if it makes a meal for me! The meatless meatballs are yummy, too! Unfortunately there are no TJ’s in Florida so I have to make them a vacation destination!

  5. I love Trader Joe’s. I wish there were one closer to me! I don’t have any staples there. I just go once in a while and pick up whatever grabs my attention.

  6. Dorry says:

    I’ve heard they are opening a Trader Joe’s in Dallas – I hope so! I’ve only been to one in NYC and L.A., but I know I’d have some favorites if I could shop there regularly.

  7. LOVE Trader Joe’s almond milk! I also love there cherry chocolate soy creamy ice cream. It’s addictive. Hm…other TJ faves – pb pretzel nuggets, sea salt & chocolate covered almonds, frozen falafel, bran flakes cereal, instant oatmeal, gummy vitamins, and the flattened bananas!

  8. love your stash!

    we could swap carts!
    coffee
    cocoa powder
    honey
    that coconut milk
    their raw cashews

    all of the above = staples for me!

  9. i soooo wish we had TJs here in the UK!! 😦

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

