dreary + snacky

no, those aren’t the names of two new dwarfs.

yesterday was a dreary, rainy day at the garden, and it definitely reflected on my mood. i was cranky and didn’t feel like doing anything. sadly, today’s weather looks the same. i need some sunshine!

to combat the drearies, i made a delicious lunch!

two corn tortillas, each topped with sauteed red and green peppers and onions, spinach, tomatoes, sour cream, and salsa.  it was delicious and kinda helped.

i was also snacky like woah all afternoon. i had two english muffin halves, toasted, and each spread with half nutella and half crofter’s raspberry spread that i got on our willy street co-op adventure.

[the muffins were inhaled too quickly for a photo.]

i still wanted to keep eating, but that would be no good, so i headed to the gym…with brad! he’s getting a membership too!

we did a quick treadmill warm-up and then did weights. i discovered that i 100% prefer quicker paced weights workouts that leave me shaking, like body pump, than “manly” weight lifting, aka doing 3 sets of a bunch of different moves. it took so long and we didn’t even finish our last set because i missed a medicine ball toss and got hit in the nose. 😦

after a womp womp gym experience, all i wanted was food when we got home, so i threw together this dinner.

it’s orzo and steamed zucchini, yellow summer squash, and broccoli, topped with cheesy zucchini sauce. with a few tiny sad fries on the side.

then i still wasn’t satisfied, and went back for a treat.

this cherry bing frozen yogurt was an impulse buy a while ago when liz and i did the shopping! i’m glad it’s lasted so long in the freezer…! isn’t it pretty??

then i brushed my teeth and closed the kitchen for the day to prevent even more snacking!

***

do you ever have snacky days?

how do you prevent yourself from going overboard?

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to dreary + snacky

  1. Hi! I usually just have to tell myself all of the snacks will be there tomorrow and convince myself of that so I wont just pound every snack in sight.

  2. Cheesy Zucchini Sauce? Did I forget that that post happened?

    And I am always snacky. 🙂

    • Sarah says:

      I think my sister posted about it – I’ll check and if she didn’t, I’ll make sure one of us does!

      it’s just steamed zucchini & squash, a little shredded cheese, and a splash or two of milk all blended up!

  3. brushing your teeth is the best trick!

  4. “snacky like whoa” lol

  5. Mmm… frozen yogurt… delish! I definitely do the brushing-my-teeth thing too if I’m in a snacky mood and I know that I’m not really hungry. 🙂

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

