unnecessary stress

good morning everyone! the weekend is almost here!!

i have a post for you guys today that i did not expect to be writing…or at least not so soon. first, i’m going to show you my dinner from last night, and then i’ll explain.

when i decided to start my month-long vegan challenge, i did it with two things in mind. first, it’s on my 101 in 1001 list and it’s something i really want to accomplish. second, maybe i could lose a little weight before my wedding.

something i didn’t consider – eating a vegan diet is a major diet change from where i was starting and is very different from what the other two people living with me are eating. surely, this could cause some stress and maybe a little conflict.

it hasn’t been too bad with the conflict…a couple of times brad’s said, “oh just eat it” when i said i couldn’t have something that wasn’t vegan. and liz has definitely offered me bites of things that look awesome but aren’t vegan, just because she forgot that i was doing my challenge.

but the real problem has been that it’s been stressing me out. i haven’t had much time for meal planning lately, and so my lack of a plan, especially with a goal to eat vegan, left me eating lunches like this every day.

carrots, celery, hummus, apple, peanut butter.

yes that’s delicious, but eating it day after day feeling like i couldn’t eat anything else was not fun.

then, i’d feel stressed out because i didn’t know what i was going to have for dinner. then brad would ask me what was for dinner, and i’d feel like i had to come up with a non-vegan man meal for him too.

and let’s face it, there are much more important things for me to be stressed about right now, like:

and many unimportant things that stress me out as i go through my day:

  • my iphone/itunes ganging up on me this morning and losing all the music/apps/podcasts i had on them
  • keeping the apartment clean
  • gas prices
  • etc.

i guess what i’m trying to say is, there are a lot of things in this world that stress me out, and i never want food to be one of them.

i love good food. i love good vegan food.

but what i was making wasn’t good vegan food.

it was boring, unexciting, and made me feel deprived.

so, i guess all of this is to say that i am calling it quits on my vegan challenge….for now. it’s staying on my 101 in 1001 list and i really want to accomplish it. just not right now!

and with that, let’s talk about my awesome dinner last night!

i made a gigantic bowl of deliciousness.

  • a big handful of spinach on the bottom
  • orzo
  • sauteed zucchini, squash, yellow pepper, red pepper, onion, mushrooms, and tomatoes
  • delicious cheese/zucchini sauce (see liz’s blog today for details on that!)
  • and a little cooked ham and a sprinkle of cheese on top

you know what? it was awesome and healthy and i didn’t feel a bit stressed out about it!

that’s much more like it…

*****

what stresses you out?

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in 101 in 1001. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to unnecessary stress

  1. Hi, I love you! Don’t stress about that bologna! Save the stress for something worth stressing! 🙂 We will just have to watch that cheese intake you little cheese-meister! hehe!! 🙂

  2. yay!!! i love you too. i love that you’re able to look at this rationally and make a change that will make you happier overall. no one is going to think less of you because you didn’t finish this challenge. you did an amazing job and it’s definitely something to be proud of!

  3. Hooray for you! What stresses me out is when people stress about food. We look at what other people eat and mentally either rank their choices on a “oh hell no that’s so unhealthy” or “is she eating ‘better’ than me?” scale and it’s a comparison trap to no end. It also stresses me out to think what other people are thinking about me if I choose NOT to eat the bread on the table or NOT to eat the fried food.

    Food is love, and it should be enjoyed. I think we all need to focus on eating what makes us feel good and healthy and happy. (Although I wouldn’t recommend anyone take up a fast food diet of fries and pizza…at least not EVERY night.)

  4. Mellissa says:

    I wouldn’t consider giving up, you tried it and it wasn’t the right thing for the right time for you.

  5. Marcy says:

    I think you made the right decision for now. Congrats on what you accomplished so far, and you can always get back to it again when the time is right.

    What stresses me out? Trying to get to 50 consecutive push-ups. It’s on my list! I feel so close and yet so far away, and if I stop now I will probably never get so close again. (I’m procrastinating from doing them right now 🙂 ). OK, that’s it, I am going to do them.

  6. Kelly says:

    I think you made the right decision! Now is not the time to do something drastic with your diet. Although, I’m pretty impressed that you made it even half way through a month!!

    As for the getting sick of certain foods because you have them all the time. Not to compare vegan to a fad diet, but when my husband did Atkins (he did it a number of times and it worked awesome to lose weight but would never do it again) he had plain seasoned chicken, or a plain hamburger with cheese every.single.day. He is now totally burnt out on those foods because of it.

    I guess what I’m trying to say is, another reason why it might be the best idea to take a break from the challenge for now, is that you don’t want to burn out on foods you love just because you feel like you have to eat them every day!

    Anyways, I’m done rambling. Good choice, don’t stress out, have some cheese 😉

  7. Food can be a very stressful situation. I am a vegetarian and really haven’t had an issue with it, but when it came to pregnancy nutrition and all the OTHER things I couldn’t eat, it’s been a big deal. Soft cheeses are the worst, and of course, every vegetarian thing in a restaurant has feta, goat cheese, etc. that I can’t eat now. It is very stressful! But, I completely understand. You’ve done it for over a week, and I think that is an accomplishment in itself! Don’t beat yourself up about it and I definitely think you made the right decision. You have other things you need to stress about now! ;o)

  8. Yesss don’t add to the stress darling! ❤ try to chillax as much as possible…and make what makes you happy and stress-free! now is def not the time for the pressure of a new diet (and i mean that in the sense of a lifestyle diet.. not a diet diet.. u know what I mean! hehe)

    you're getting married! enjoy it! and drink lots of wine

  9. Grace says:

    A better question is what doesn’t stress me out..lol! I am the queen of stress at times and I am always trying to work on it! Right now I’ve been pretty good about it but recently feeling fatigued and not wanting to workout is stressing me out:( I’m attempting a long training run tomorrow so we’ll see how it goes! But so you know everyone gets stressed and you did the right thing by reminding yourself what is important to you right now:)

  10. This is exactly why I don’t do vegan or call myself vegetarian or anything of that nature…because if a time came where I really wanted something or didn’t feel I had the freedom to choose something it would completely backfire because of my past relationship with food. I can’t have the slightest feeling of deprivation or I end up wanting to binge instead. I think you made the right decision because as soon as food beocmes a stressor something has to change about how we approach it. 🙂

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

