vegan eats wednesday

i loved hearing about all of your favorite childhood books yesterday – it was definitely a trip down memory lane! 🙂

also, i do have a mac, so if anyone else has more tips about doing a slideshow in iphoto or imovie (we have 3 different songs we want to use), please let me know! so far, i’m just winging it.

now, it’s time for another what i ate wednesday!

p.s. even if you don’t usually check out jenn’s blog for the other great wiaw posts, she’s hosting an awesome giveaway today, so go check it out!

this week, i’m featuring some random vegan meals from the past week that haven’t made it onto the blog!

first, up…probably my favorite vegan meal item so far.

a portobello mushroom sandwich! ok, so this photo isn’t of the sandwich, but it is the bomb mushroom that went on the socca sandwich! i marinated the portobello caps in balsamic vinegar with a splash of oil, and then we just sauteed them in the marinade. it was amazing.

i also enjoyed a side of carrots and socca with hummus with my sandwich. can’t get enough of that socca!

***

greens have also been a huge part of my life lately. big old salads with hummus “dressing”!

and i figured out what to do with all of the beet greens that i accumulated along with my overabundance of beets.

i just sauteed some beet greens with some onions for a tasty side dish.

***

and now for the big kale fail.

i burned my kale chips…twice. 😦

***

it’s been wedding planning central lately here. i’ll catch you up tomorrow! 🙂

any other foodie fails out there lately?

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to vegan eats wednesday

  1. you know i fail all the time 🙂 kale chips are hard to not burn!

  2. I fail all the time! I have a dehydrator and while it takes up an obscene amount of counter space, it does allow for pretty burn proof kale chips.

    I went to a class at the Apple store for iMovie – is there one in your area? You can go at a non-busy time (like just after opening on a weekday) and most of the folks there are more than happy to sit with you and teach.

  3. Not a week goes by without some sort of foodie fail. Recently I tried to make a microwave fudge recipe…not a good plan. I’m going to keep trying though!

    For IMovie, just load all of your photos in the order you want them, adding transitions and titles and whatnot (it’s really easy, I swear…just click around on different buttons until you find everything). To add music, just import the song from your ITunes. You can cut the song however you like, right down on the bottom of the IMovie panel/editor [photos appear on one line, sounds on the other]. I used it all the time in college and when teaching.

    To turn it into a DVD so you can watch it off of your computer, use the IDVD that should also be on your computer…it will guide you through the process. [Just make sure you have a DVD-R disc.]

  4. I had a cupcake fail the other night. I was trying a new recipe I’ve been working on and too much baking powder meant I had jumbo cupcakes stuck to the top of the pan! Le sigh.

  5. I had an almost fail last night when I went to make these eggplant roll-ups that called for ricotta only to find that mine had gone bad 😦 Luckily I was able to use a combination of mascarpone and cream cheese in a pinch and it turned out good, albeit a little runny!

  6. bahahah i love that you top chickpeas with more chickpeas! ❤ you're such an addict! and man that sounds deeelish! Happy WIAW lovey!!!!

  7. Oh my gosh I ALWAYS Burn kale chips. Maybe because I never set a timer. But the problem is, it makes the kitchen smell awwwful!

  8. karla says:

    Im glad to see Im not the only one who burns Kale chips! Although, I’m not happy you burned yours!

    Best of luck with the wedding planning! Can’t wait to read about it. 😀

  9. Ahh! Love wedding planning – can’t wait to hear all about it!

    We definitely all have cooking fails so you are not alone in that at all. 🙂 I want to try portabello mushrooms as a burger – I’ve heard they are really good!

  10. Errign says:

    I am PRO at burning kale chips, especially when I really, really, really want them hahah.

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

