a lovely surprise

so, yesterday morning, i got a great surprise just as i was about to leave for work. due to thunder and lightening, activities at the garden were canceled for the day!

i took the opportunity to watch a little glee (catching up on my dvr’ed shows while brad wasn’t around – he hates glee with a passion), work from home, go to the library, and do some wedding planning.

the library trip was so fun! i grabbed a couple books by authors i’ve liked in the past, a couple dvd’s, and then i joined liz* in the cookbook section and was transported back to my younger self.

*yes, that’s right, liz finally starter her own blog! go show her some love!!

i found kirsten’s cookbook! please tell me you read the american girl books when you were younger too!? felicity was my favorite, but i liked kirsten second!

i also found the boxcar children’s cookbook! i owned at least 100 of the boxcar series books. i used to read and read and read when i was younger – liz used to get so mad at me for not playing with her!

i also used to love babysitters’ club books, sweet valley high, and little house on the prairie!

*****

on our way home from the library, liz and i passed this cute little garden in the fireman’s park.

it looks like a day camp in the area takes care of it. it was so cute!

it made me happy to see it!

*****

then, liz made me dinner!

she made tasty socca stuffed with turkey burgers for herself, but she made a vegan version for me: socca stuffed with sauteed spinach, mushrooms, and onions! it was awesome – thanks liz!

i also had a small side of farro mess (farro, balsamic vinegar, and sun-dried tomatoes). a serving a green beans made their way onto my plate after this photo was taken too!

socca is seriously a lifesaver for me during this vegan challenge. i’ve been eating it so much!

*****

i mentioned it once already, but my sister started her own blog! go say hi!!

*****

did you read much when you were younger?

what were your favorite books?

and on a completely unrelated note:

has anyone made a slideshow with music for a wedding reception?

i’m working on one, but i’m not sure powerpoint is going to cut it…

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in wedding and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to a lovely surprise

  1. I was like “who’s Liz” then got to the end, hehe. Yay!

    Slide show with music… Well if you have a Mac it would be easy with iphoto… I take it you don’t have a Mac or you would know that. 😉

  2. If you have an Apple, IMovie is the way to go. Otherwise, there is a PC version but I can’t remember what it’s called. It was SO easy and we used it to make videos in my educational technology classes.

    As for Kirsten—she was my doll! I never had her cookbook though. I read The Boxcar Children with some of my students this year, and it was just as fun as I remembered it. The Babysitters Club was my absolute favorite series, though….

  3. I used to cook out of Kirsten’s cookbook all the time as a kid (I also had Samantha’s craft book but most the crafts were too complicated/expensive to take on). My favorite recipes in there were the creamed potatoes and rice porridge. We always made a big mess in the kitchen!

    I second Sarah’s comment. iMovie is a great resource–I made a slideshow with music for my parents’ 25th wedding anniversary and J’s proposal involved a movie he made on there for me 🙂

  4. Oh my goodness you brought back some crazy memories… I swear I used to live in those babysitter club and sweet valley books… I also loved goosebumps! I can’t believe American Girl dolls are still around!

  5. there was a boxcar cookbook?!
    I read so much when I was younger…I would actually get in trouble because I wanted to read at the dinner table and would stay up late reading and would also never play outside…That hasn’t really changed 🙂
    I loved Beverly Cleary, Babysitter’s Club, and American Girls. Molly and S

  6. i think i read every single boxcar children book. LOVED them!

  7. Grace says:

    I loved Nancy Drew books when I was younger:)

  8. Girl, you and I could’ve shared books! We loved all the same series! How fun is that?! 🙂 Also, I totally did not know there was a Boxcar cookbook or Kristen’s cookbook! You have got to let us know how they are!

  9. I read Sweet Valley High, Babysitter’s Club and Nancy Drew. I never got into American Girl – it was a bit before my time. (hee hee) I can’t wait to introduce my daughter to Little House and American Girl.

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

