creative juices

hey everyone! oh man, this monday totally snuck up on me. i’d like another 3-day weekend, please?

so, despite the difficulty of saying no to lots of my favorite foods on the 4th of july and while camping, i’m enjoying the way my vegan challenge is forcing me to get creative.

take last night’s dinner for example. brad was eating leftover brats, which of course made me crave a burger or brat! i was in luck that i had one black bean burger left over from the weekend. so i made a black bean burger using a socca “bun”!

the “bun” was actually two small socca pancakes (i used oregano, basil, and garlic salt to season it). and what goes better with a burger than fries or chips? not much.

so i made pickle chips and served them with a squirt of ketchup! (i just sliced up the pickles, dipped them in breadcrumbs, and baked at 350* for 35 minutes, flipping halfway through. they weren’t very crunchy though. next time i’ll try them at 375* and maybe cook them a little longer.

this meal was so tasty and i didn’t even feel like i was being left out of the “good food”!

*****

have you tried veggies “fries” yet?

i’ve made carrot fries and asparagus fries so far! next on my list are zucchini and portoello fries!

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to creative juices

  1. portobello fries are on my list too!

  2. Asparagus fries?! Why have I not tried this?! I love asparagus, and I love ketchup (and every fry gets dipped in ketchup, duh) so I need to try that!

  3. Grace says:

    I love zucchini fries..so yummy!

  4. I love your socca!! 🙂

  5. I have got to do the pickle chips! Normally when you roast veggies you use a pretty high heat. So prob increasing the heat will make en crispy!

  6. I’ve done lots of zucchini fries, but I LOVE the idea of pickle fries!! YUM!

  7. Chelsea says:

    Mmmmmmmm. I had deep fried pickles when I was in NC for vacation. I think your version would make a great “regular night” side dish.

  8. pickle chips are on my to-do list!

    have you seen my mozz balls technique? if you try that with the pickles I bet you’ll get extra crunch! do you have a wire rack of some sort? like a cookie rack?

  9. I haven’t tried veggie fries yet. I’m intrigued!

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

