a {vegan} camping weekend

hi ladies! how’s everyone doing on this beautiful sunday evening?

sorry for the lack of postage again yesterday – the wordpress app didn’t download onto my phone for some reason so i obviously couldn’t blog from my phone!

on friday, before we left for the campground, i did a little prep work for the weekend. brad’s mom warned me that she wasn’t going to have anything vegan for me, so i had to fend for myself!

i made two batches of overnight oats with oats, chia seeds, ground flaxseeds, mashed banana, and almond milk and topped them with frozen blueberries.

i also topped my oats with half a packet of justin’s almond butter each morning! overnight oats were a perfect breakfast for both mornings.

***

i also whipped up some black bean burgers (original recipe from mama pea) to eat for dinners/lunches out there.

i ate them in salad form both nights for dinner!

***

i also packed lots of fruit/veggies: apples, bananas, carrots, mini sweet peppers, and hummus. i also made a pot of coffee and brought it in ball jars to drink in the morning.

straight from the jar!

*****

we did a lot of relaxing over the weekend.

and so did capone of course…

and….i got to check off another item from my 101 in 1001 list! 🙂

number 26: camp in a tent – check!

[don’t mind my just-rolled-out-of-bed appearance!]

*****

have you gone camping lately?

tent or camper?

i loved camping in a tent! but i think i’m a (with electricity/running water/showers) tent camper. i felt so dirty today – it was absolutely amazing to shower and get ready in my own shower!

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in 101 in 1001. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to a {vegan} camping weekend

  1. Dude VEGAN camping takes skill! ❤ It was genius to bring the black bean burgers so you could still get your burger on!

  2. Dorry says:

    Good job being so prepared with your vegan eats! The overnight oats are perfect. I haven’t been camping in a really long time, but I think it would be fun to sleep in a tent! As long as there weren’t scary animals…

  3. Grace says:

    I love camping and we have all the gear but we’ve only gone once! I’m hoping we can go again this fall… the whole living in florida thing makes it hard since it is always so hot!

    • Sarah says:

      oh yeah, so true! camping in hot weather is no fun! it was in the low 80’s all weekend and that was almost too hot for me. I can’t imagine Florida heat!!!

  4. The first I ever went camping, I was a vegan, so I packed lots of vegan eats! It was fun! I did go to Bonnaroo this summer, and it was a lot of fun! But after 5 day without a shower, I was ready to go home 😉

    • Sarah says:

      I even showered at the campground, but I never felt clean! I’ve done kayaking trips for a week at a time, but it’s been a while. that’s definitely the dirtiest I’ve ever felt!! 🙂

  5. looks like you were super well prepared for the weekend. love that you brought coffee already brewed!

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

