what i ate (on the fourth of july) wednesday

happy what i ate wednesday! i love short work weeks – it just started yesterday and it’s wednesday already!

this week’s wiaw has a theme – what i ate on the 4th of july – because let me tell you, eating vegan on the 4th with two families of meat and cheese-lovers is really hard. especially hard since i had just decided to do my month of vegan eating a couple days before and didn’t give my mom or brad’s mom any warning. i just made it work with whatever vegan options showed up! want to see?

on our car ride home from madison on sunday morning, i ate a huge (1 lb) bag of peas from the farmers’ market.

and a kombucha!

i’ve only ever had gt’s kombucha, but i found this kind at the willy st. coop and loved that it’s locally brewed. i tried the raspberry flavor and it’s delicious! 🙂 new goal: make my own kombucha!

i also had this little snuggle buddy on the ride. we took a nap in the backseat.

***

once in manitowoc, we stopped by my mom’s house, picked up my & liz’s (step) nephew, and headed strawberry picking (a 101 in 1001 goal!)

we lucked out – all of the madison patches were completely picked over by last weekend; most were done with the you-pick hours – but manitowoc has been about 10* cooler than madison all summer, so their berries were perfect for picking!

we came home with 13 lbs of berries (would have been more, but it’s hard keeping a 3-year-old occupied after the first 5 minutes.).

now we’ll hopefully have fresh strawbs for a couple months into the winter at least and i checked off number 4 on my 101 list! 🙂

***

sunday night was the first 4th party at brad’s parents’ house. i filled my plate up with all of the vegan options they had – raw fruit and raw veggies!

and a cosmopolitan (i’m just holding onto my ignorance and hoping these are vegan….).

brad and i sat on the ground to eat, so capone came over and begged.

when he begs, he sits next to you, then avoids eye contact. it’s so funny! what a weirdo.

i went back for a second plate of food.

and tried to pretend that i didn’t want the yummy beer cheese dip, burgers, and other deliciousness that everyone else was loving!

***

the fourth of july started with an early-ish wake-up call from liz saying she’d be picking us up soon. but this girl needs her coffee.

i was able to convince liz to take us to starbucks so i could get my fix! i got a grande iced coffee with soy milk and a pump of sugar-free hazelnut syrup. it was a new concoction for me, but i really liked it!

then we headed to my mom’s house.

(i love her backyard – we’re having our cocktail hour between our wedding ceremony & reception here.)

i didn’t really take any pictures of my food this time, but i enjoyed lots of fruit & veggies again, as well as some guacamole and texas caviar! both were extra delicious after the meal the night before. don’t get me wrong, i love raw fruit & veggies, but i can’t eat very many meals of only that without going crazy!

***

then, liz, brad, capone, and i piled back in the car to head back to madison.

we made it back in time to see the deforest fireworks!

(another 101 in 1001 item!). we sat behind the stupid middle school sign – rookie mistake…

besides being eaten alive by mosquitoes, they were great! i love seeing fireworks displays in little towns. it reminds me of the ones we’d go see when i was little.

*****

did you watch fireworks this weekend?

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in 101 in 1001 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to what i ate (on the fourth of july) wednesday

  1. Mellissa says:

    I really want to make my own kombucha, hopefully someday!

  2. I’m pretty sure cosmos are vegan. There are a few brands of vodka that aren’t vegan but those aren’t very mainstream. So you should be good. 🙂
    I have a whole freezer full of fresh picked strawberries waiting for October to roll around so they can get eaten. Nothing beats the taste of a fresh picked strawberry.

  3. When you brew your own kombucha, I volunteer myself to be a taste tester!

  4. karla says:

    Oh dear, I lived in Wisconsin until I left to do my PhD and I can’t imagine trying to be vegan there, I feel for ya sister! So much delicious meat and cheese…oooh the cheese. mmmmmmmm. Although I’m having a hard enough time trying to be vegan in California, which is center of the hippy vegan universe. All the best of luck to you!

  5. Good for you to sticking to your guns! I imagine it wasn’t easy with all that food around 🙂

    We watched fireworks at a friend’s house on Sunday night which had a great view of the city and all the fireworks going off! We also got back to St. Louis late enough to see some from the interstate Monday night!

  6. If you figure out how to make your own Kombucha, let me know! I LOVE it but it’s so freaking expensive that I don’t buy it often!

  7. THIRTEEN POUNDS! you obv need my address so you can unload a few pounds eh? hahaha! glad you had an awesome weekend love! ❤ Happy WIAW! xoxo

  8. Ugh, I’m SO jealous of all your delicious looking strawberries! I tried to go to the local strawberry farm a few weeks ago, but they had already closed for the season! 😦

    I really want to try making my own kombucha too! I’ve seen a few others do it and it really doesn’t look that hard…I just have to practice on my patience!

    I enjoyed a little show from my back patio on the 4th…that is until I started to be eaten alive my mosquitos! I was outside for maybe 10 minutes and I think I got one bite for every minute I was out there!

  9. Dorry says:

    I’ve always wanted to go berry picking! It doesn’t really happen down here in Texas, but I will add that to my list of things to do. Congrats on keeping with your vegan challenge despite the holiday food temptations. I hope you’re feeling great!

  10. i love your mom’s backyard too!!! we saw some great fireworks this weekend. i love them 🙂

  11. Soo jealous of your strawberry picking! 😉 I am going blueberry picking next week! Yess.

    Whitney

  12. Chelsea says:

    I need to look and see if our CSA does berry picking… Mmmmm, fresh summer strawberries.

  13. Stephanie says:

    Good for you for staying strong! I’m not yet at the point where I’m vegan in social situations. The temptations are just too many, and often people make dishes smothered in cheese just for the vegetarian. I haven’t yet turned them down. I’m working on it, though!

  14. Umm hi I will take some of those 13lbs of berries! I used to go to Michigan and go blueberry picking but I haven’t been in years. I am all about the fresh berries! Looks like a great weekend.

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

