holla for hummus

yesterday i checked another item off my 101 in 1001 list! 🙂 number 99 is make my own hummus and i knew that once i got my food processor, that one would be a breeze!

i searched around the interwebs for a recipe for garlic hummus that didn’t call for roasting the garlic (i was feeling too lazy) and did include tahini.

i’ve heard that you can make hummus without tahini but that it’s not nearly as good as the real thing….so i decided that my first attempt had to be authentic! i ended up using this recipe, but i halved it because i only had one can of chickpeas.

i dumped everything in and hit process.

about 3 minutes later i scraped down the sides, added some salt, and let it process for about another minute until it was all creamy. (note, apparently shelling the chickpeas also results in a much creamier hummus, but i was feeling too lazy for that too).

and for all of my not very hard work, i ended up with this beautiful batch of garlicy hummus!

for a first attempt, i’m really happy! i even had to keep brad away while i took a couple pictures! he’s always my taste tester and he didn’t seem to want to wait yesterday. 😉

i didn’t want to mess with the recipe on my first time, so i didn’t change anything, but next time i will use less salt and less tahini. i’m also already dreaming up delicious mix-ins to use in  my next batch: sun-dried tomatoes, basil, cilantro, jalepenos, and so much more! 🙂 i was so excited about making hummus that i almost got brad to go get me another can of chickpeas right away last night. but then i calmed down and told myself i could wait!

what can i say? patience is not my strong suit!

*****

have you made your own hummus?

feel free to post a link below with your favorite recipe – i’m excited to make more!!

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in 101 in 1001 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to holla for hummus

  1. i love making my own hummus. my favorite is adding sweet potato or roasted red pepper. i rarely use tahini and i never add salt. and girl, you are rocking that list!

  2. I never really follow a recipe, but I’m about to try my aunt’s hummus recipe that she just emailed me. It includes yogurt! I’ve had it at her house and it’s hands down the best I’ve ever tasted. If it comes out well I’ll post it!

  3. Dorry says:

    I love homemade hummus! I make it all the time. It’s fun to switch it up and add different ingredients. I like black olives in mine! Or a spicy version with jalapenos and cilantro.

  4. Atta girl! Homemade hummus is the best. 🙂 Way to go… 🙂

  5. Marcy says:

    I loved making my own hummus. So easy! I like it with some cumin too. I had it on my list as well. Here’s a link about it:
    http://www.tootimidandsqueamish.com/2011/04/homemade-hummus/

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

