the sweetest sound

do you want to know the best sound in the world to wake up to? no, it’s not my wonderful fiance sleeping next to me (although that’s pretty good too….). it’s coffee already brewing!

brad’s aunts gave this to me at my shower on saturday, and i’m already in love! apparently i need to work on my method though. yesterday’s coffee was awesome, but today’s is super weak. boo on me for being stingy with the coffee grinds.

*****

yesterday was the first day of my research intervention for the summer. i’m not sure if i’ve really talked about it on the blog, but my study is a summer gardening intervention for overweight middle school kids, trying to prevent summer weight gain. research has shown that kids, especially overweight and minority kids, gain more weight during the summer than during the school year. we collaborate with some physicians, and they also agree that the kids they see in their fitkids clinic will often gain 5-10 pounds over the summer months. and when you’re already 40+ pounds overweight, you don’t want to be gaining 5-10 more pounds.

anyway, this is my 3rd summer doing the intervention. and it should be my last! we finally have a high enough sample size, so after this summer i’ll analyze my data and write it up!

yesterday, at the garden, we did some ice breaker games, took a garden tour, weeded onions, and made spring rolls for lunch!

a group of kids also started painting signs to mark our veggies in the garden.

i just loved this one and had to share. isn’t it cute?!

*****

and finally, last night i finally jumped on the train. the socca train that is. i’ve seen socca in some version of another all over the blog world, and even though i’ve had a bag of chickpea flour for months, i still haven’t tried it! well, last night was the night and socca pizza was on the menu.

 

my & brad's pizzas

i pretty much followed this recipe from nourishing flourishing, but i had to add about double the water it called for. see that misshapen pizza above? yeah, that was mine – and it was the first one i did. i realized that the batter was waaaaay too thick, so i added water for brad’s, liz’s, & keith’s crusts!

i topped my pizza with cheese (duh), green peppers, red onions, tomatoes, black olives, green olives, spinach, and basil. it was so so delicious!! seriously, green olives on a pizza is the bomb.

everyone else really liked theirs too! keith said that the crust tasted like baked/fried hummus. he’s going to tell his dad about them because they’re gluten free and his dad has celiac disease!

*****

have you tried socca yet?

green olives on pizza: what are you thoughts?

do you garden?

i guess i’m nosy today!

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to the sweetest sound

  1. Yup Yup, my coffee machine does that too, except mine is loud & kinda scary! :p
    I haven’t heard of the soca pizza, looks interesting though!

  2. I used to have a programmable coffee maker, and I loved waking up to the smell of coffee brewing. It made it a little easier to get up in the morning! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Socca!! Love it!! This winter I made it a lot to eat with soup. Warm socca and butter sounds amazing right now. Noms!

  3. awwww yay for the pea sign!!!!!!!!!!!! =)

    and yay x10000 for the coffee maker! โค life it up! its the best invention eva!

  4. i just can’t get over how cool your intervention study sounds!!! i love it!

  5. I’ve made a socca breakfast pizza a couple of times. I need to branch out more…

    And – I have to disagree about the sweetest sound. The sweetest sound I know is a baby laughing. Coffee brewing isn’t too far behind, though. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Dorry says:

    I’ve had socca, and I loved it! But I’m trying to figure out how to make it crispier next time. It might just be cooking it longer or at a higher temp. Either way, it’s perfect for individual pizzas! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Every morning I hear the sweetest sound and smell the sweetest smell. COFFEE. Totally agree girl! Haven’t tried socca…. I bookmarked this post though to try it ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Chelsea says:

    We had a garden in Eagle Heights for two years, but this year we decided it was too much work! Where is the garden for the intervention? That sounds like a great idea. Gardening = hard core exercise and tasty healthy food.

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

