showered with love

ok, let’s give this another try! on saturday, brad’s mom & sister threw me a beautiful bridal shower with their family and friends. i was pretty nervous before it, because i really didn’t know a lot of the people coming, but my mom, grandma, and sister came, so that really helped! 🙂

it all ended up being fine, though. i think i was able to keep my awkward-ness to a minimum and socialize!

michele (brad’s mom) decorated the tables with ribbons/napkins in one of our wedding colors.

she also stopped at our florist’s and got some of the blue and purple orchids that we’ll be using in our bouquet.

she got 6 stems to go in the 6 vases on the 3 tables!

***

presents started piling up by the fireplace.

and she was ready for plenty of mimosas, lemonade, and punch to be served.

(i had several mimosas!)

for the nerves of course…

***

michele and sarah (brad’s sister – not me in the 3rd person) served everyone plated meals.

they served chicken salad (which i turned into a sandwich using a delicious roll) and fruit kabobs with a chocolate covered strawberry on the end! the food was really delicious. they also passed deviled eggs and little raspberry & brie tarts, but i didn’t snap a picture of those.

***

and then, one of my favorite parts of the day….

….the cake!

michele asked her sister in law to pick up this cake from an amazing bakery about a half hour out of town. and oh em gee. it had a chocolate layer with raspberry filling and a vanilla layer with buttercream.

i shared this piece + one more with my mom, sister, and grandma.

i could have totally had another all to myself.

***

then it was presents time! this is what i was most nervous for. but i just sat in my chair and got to business!

we recieved so many generous gifts.

i felt so so spoiled.

brad’s cousin got us these hilarious pillow cases.

she definitely knows what she’s talking about.

i won’t list everything that we got, but two of my favorites are my mixer (!!)

(in red – to go with our kitchen decor)

and this amazing vase.

my sister got this for me! i saw it at our florist’s shop months ago when we were choosing flowers and mentioned that i loved it! my sneaky mom went back and got it for my sister to give me at the shower. nice job, mom! 🙂

***

after the presents, the shower wound down. we didn’t play any games (thank goodness – i hate shower games). then i had a mini photo shoot with my family.

me and liz

*

me, liz, and mom

*

liz, my mom, my grandma, and me!

*****

it was such a fun day and brad’s worked so hard to make sure things were perfect!

***

now i’m busy gearing up for my first day of my gardening intervention today. i have a long 9 weeks ahead of me, but at the end of it, i’ll be so much closer to finishing my phd, and i’ll be super closer to our wedding date! 🙂

***

i didn’t read a single blog all weekend. please catch me up!

what’s new in your life?

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in wedding. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to showered with love

  1. Looks like a lovely shower – those flowers are just gorgeous.
    And that cake?! I could use a slice right now!!

  2. omg you look so pretty!!!! i love your dress! looks like a great party. and that vase is awesome!

  3. wha wha whAATTT? That cake looks INcredible. I love bridal showers! Mine was so lovely and I felt so blessed by everyone came. You’re going to be a beautiful, glowing bride.

  4. Briana says:

    Okay I just tweeted you, but it looks like you figured out upload issue, thank goodness because.. You are so very pretty, that cake looked incredible, I laughed out loud about the pillow cases and it looks like you had a wonderful bridal shower! I am so happy for you 🙂

  5. Chelsea says:

    Love the flowers! They are going to be beautiful for your wedding. Glad you had a wonderful day.

  6. That looks like a great bridal shower! I especially love the decorations and that cake–looks so yummy 🙂 Glad to hear it was a success!

  7. What a fun shower with a delicious looking cake!
    I’m first now catching up on weekend/Monday/today’s blogs!

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

