balance

first of all, thank you guys so much for your comments on our apartment progress! it’s slowly coming along and i love it!

i feel like i have so much to catch you up on! we’ll start with tuesday night’s dinner because it was delish.

after feverishly cleaning and then insanity-ing, brad and i were soooo ready to eat. i had planned to make a quinoa dish last week, and then never got around to it, so i whipped up some of jenn’s fiesta quinoa again.

and then i created a delicious wrap!

it had spinach, green peppers, salsa, fresh (!!) cilantro, and of course, plenty of fiesta quinoa. served with a side of steamed asparagus!

it was a perfect dinner!

*****

yesterday (wednesday) was a busy busy day. i had to present a poster at a conference on campus. a perk of that is that i didn’t have to pack my meals! i did grab a chobani for part of my breakfast.

and then i partook in some conference coffee.

and fruit/bagels!

not a bad conference breakfast. (excuse the iphone photos – i was being sneaky!)

then i sat through some sessions, presented my poster.

then it was lunch time! i requested the vegetarian option, which was a feta and tabbouleh wrap! sadly, i didn’t take a picture, but it was really delicious.

*****

liz and keith arrived about a half hour after i got home from work and then we spent the rest of the night unpacking, making an awesome dinner (recap to come tomorrow i hope!), and hanging out.

my summer intervention study begins on monday, so i’m taking a half day of work today and the whole day off tomorrow. we’re heading to manitowoc tonight and are staying for the whole weekend to spend some time with the fams and for my shower!

*****

are you and your significant other from the same town? how do you balance spending time with both of your families?

my mom only has one extra bedroom at her house, so my sister and keith stay there when we visit and brad and i stay at his parents. i always want to spend more time with my mom than i do, but often feel bad leaving his parents house…

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to balance

  1. My husband and I very blessed that our parents only live 45 minutes apart. Since we live in California and fly to Nebraska to see family for holidays and vacation, it’s nice to have them close by. I can’t imagine if they lived hours apart from each other – not sure how we’d figure that out!

  2. Chelsea says:

    My family lives in FL and my in-laws are in TN. My brother lives in NC and my BIL and his wife will soon live in VA. So yeah… you just have to do the best you can to share time evenly. What’s hard for my family is that my in-laws are more likely to come visit us, so I feel like I have to spend more of our travel time to see my parents.

  3. that’s a tough situation with you both being from the same place. brett’s parents live 4 miles from us and mine live far away so we have to alternating flying out there for holidays and such

  4. Ugh, my fiance and I aren’t from the same town, but his parents actually moved to the town where I was from and that is how we met (both home for a summer) and I really wish they lived in different places! I usually just stay with my family, since it is more important for me to spend time with them than with him! (I just have to make sure that I see his family too!)

  5. KT says:

    Our parents live in different cities (mine in CA, his in Omaha and Kansas City-area) which makes things a bit easier but it also means we have to split up holidays more so than if they all lived in the same city. I definitely think figuring out holidays and how much time you will spend with each part of the family is a tough (and unexpected) part of being married. I never gave it much thought until we were in it, you know? 🙂

  6. Briana says:

    Even though J and I only grew up 2 hours apart, we spend a little more time with my family.And since we live apart now, we just see our own families on the holidays. I’m not sure how we will split up the holiday situation when we move in together 🙂 but that’s a long way off!

  7. OLE!!!!! ❤ I'm coping you. count on it =) I can't decide between a fiesta quinoa wrap for dinner annnnd… hmm.. socca pizza? or dahl and a grilled cheese pita… oh wait… that last one sounds flipping goooood! But I wanted guac. crap! life is full of too many decisions =) delish ones though

    have fun at your shower!!!!!! eee!!! lots of photos missy!

  8. Dorry says:

    Billy and I are both from Dallas and our families are here (for the most part) so we make it a point to see both of them as much as possible. But with my parents both being remarried, there’s still a lot of holiday events to go around come Thanksgiving and Christmas. 🙂

  9. Priyanka says:

    My husband and I are both from the same town but sadly we are over 15,000 miles away from them, so balancing does not happen 🙂

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

