monday minis are back!

hey guys! how’s your monday? i don’t know what’s up with me – but i am in a great mood, especially for a monday!

i bet it’s because i’m so excited for my sister to arrive on wednesday! i’m not sure if i told you all the situation with her visit, but here it is. liz got a job in madison for the summer, but she’s planning on staying for good. her boyfriend, keith, is also planning to move here, but he doesn’t have a job lined up yet. they’re both getting here wednesday (driving from northern cali) and staying with us. keith will be here for a week and a half and will be super busy with job interviews and doing more job hunting. liz is staying with us until keith gets a job and moves here, when they’ll get an apartment together!

they’ve been on the road for over 10 hours now, and my sister just called me telling me to listen to a bunch of songs that we sang in chorus in middle & high school! now i’m singing a bunch of songs to brad while he tries to ignore me watches the brewers.

a couple of my favorites:

amani utupe

and

let the river run

ahhhh, the memories! 🙂

*****

ok, on to the food! sadly, i didn’t take many pictures today, but i did capture our dinner.

we had steamfresh veggies on the side of a bomb pasta dish! i saw this recipe for p.s. i love you pasta sauce on the scene from me blog a couple days ago, and knew i had to make it (honestly, i just love that movie and thought it was too cute that she named the sauce that!).

i really really liked this sauce! brad thought it tasted “healthy, but good”. i just thought it was delicious. we’ll be making it again! 🙂

*****

and now, it’s been a while since i did some monday mini goals, but i think it would be good for me to get back into it! so, here we go!

do all insanity workouts this week. brad and i have been doing insanity pretty consistantly, but i think we’ve skipped at least one workout each week. no skipping this week! today, it’s so far, so good! we finished our workout before dinner!

stay focused at work. my productivity in lab has been way down lately. i need to work on focusing on work stuff (not wedding planning!) when i’m in lab.

no snoozing my alarm clock. i’ve been snoozing a bit too much lately. i’m going to try to nip that right now and cut out any snoozes this week.

relax and enjoy my bridal shower this weekend. i’m so excited for my first bridal shower this weekend (given by brad’s mom & sister), but i tend to get nervous in social situations where i don’t know many people well. i know brad’s mom and sister of course, and i’ve met some of his mom’s friends, but i don’t know them well. i hope i can just enjoy it and not be awkward!

ok, i think that’s enough. wish me well this week!

*****

were you in chorus in middle or high school?

i was in chorus from 7th grad until i graduated and i was also in a couple extracurricular choirs. i even had several solos! 🙂 sadly, i’ve lost some of my skills. just ask brad!! 😉

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to monday minis are back!

  1. yay for bridal showers!!! you will have so much fun 🙂 can’t wait to see what you get!

  2. Priyanka says:

    It would be so much fun to have your sister in the same city. I hope you have a productive week at the lab, Sarah!

  3. How exciting – your first shower! Please take some pictures!

    My productivity in grad school went way down during the beginning of the summers. I didn’t plan so well, though, and was planning my wedding for one month after defending/graduating/moving from NC to TX and then to MN. Talk about multitasking!

    • Sarah says:

      oh trust me, there will be plenty of shower photos taken! 🙂

      wow, that’s such a busy time for you to have planned your wedding! and i thought i had it rough – my study ends 2 weeks before our wedding. but at least i don’t have to plan a move or defend. that’d be way worse!

  4. Good luck not snoozing the alarm clock! That’s a tough one, but you can definitely do it!!

  5. Aww, I’m sure your bridal shower will be fabulous! Just relax and enjoy being pampered by all the little old ladies who have known Brad since he was “yea high” 😉 And I’m excited for you that your sis is almost there!

  6. I was in chorus and in 6th grade and then I sang in church all through middle and high school…I’m not so great of a singer now either:) Good luck with all your mini goals and I am so excited to see the recap of your wedding shower!

    • Sarah says:

      i never really thought of singing as a skill that you “lost” over time, but i can definitely tell that i’m out of practice now. much less control and a much smaller range. so sad…

  7. Chelsea says:

    I was in middle school band. Sadly I am pretty bad at singing. Maybe a stint in chorus would have done me some good.

  8. Yes! Enjoy the shower. I know how stressful all the wedding stuff can be though, but you deserve the FUN of it all. 🙂

    And I love the idea of weekly mini-goals to keep things in check.

    • Sarah says:

      thanks, tina! i was in the habit of setting and sticking with my mini goals a while ago, but i kind of forgot about it. now it’s back!

  9. KT says:

    I remember being a little nervous about bridal showers too but everyone is so excited for you and to see you that it melts all those fears away 🙂

    I was in choir in middle school and high school and I definitely miss it sometimes, especially the harmonizing! Not too much of that in my daily life, haha

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

