good food. good beer. good friends. good weekend.

hi friends! i hope you’re all enjoying your weekend! i definitely am. 🙂

last night brad and i went to a cook out at some of our friends’ house. it was awesome. perfect weather, lots of good beer, great company, and delicious food.

our friend jeremy grilled burgers, hot dogs, asparagus, and corn on the cob. brad and i contributed potato salad and red velvet macaroons (store-bought – i wish i could make macaroons this delicious!).

we stayed until about 10:30 sitting around the fire and chatting. we were some of the first to leave but i was pooped! getting up to work at 5:30 on a saturday wasn’t fun…

*****

this morning i woke up raring to go! i made a pot of french press coffee and started getting busy organizing our apartment. my sister and her boyfriend arrive this week wednesday (!!!), so we really needed to tackle the guest bedroom and a couple other cluttered areas before they get here.

i got started by organizing our laundry closet and the cabinets under the sink in the guest bath. we’ve just been putting random things there when we couldn’t fit them in the logical place (for example: a magic bullet box in the guest bathroom cabinets?!?).

then hunger caught up with me and i had breakfast.

oats with ground flaxseed and a banana stirred in and topped with frozen blueberries, pineapple, a little love grown foods granola, and a scoop of peanut butter! it’s been forever since i’ve had nut butter on top of my oats – i’m not sure why i stopped doing it, but it’s back, baby! 🙂

***

after i relieved my hunger, i headed to the guest bedroom to do some real work. that closet was overflowing with random things that we didn’t know what else to do with!

some of the closet overflow

i managed to condense some boxes, organize a ton, and moved a lot of stuff that we really don’t use very often (like our picnic basket and some games) down to our storage room. after a little furniture rearranging and some cleaning the room is almost ready for liz & keith!

closet now

*p.s. i owe you guys an updated post-brad’s-move-in apartment update so you can see how we mixed our stuff. i took photos today!

around this time brad woke up and helped me carry some more things down to the storage room.

***

then it was about time for me to have lunch and him to have breakfast. brad said he wanted a mushroom and cheese hamburger, so he cooked them up while i took capone for a quick walk!

he sauteed some onions and mushrooms and topped his burger with pepperjack cheese and horseradish sauce!

i decided to roll with a salad burger (as usual!).

i had a spinach salad with tomato, a little bit of shredded cheddar, a scoop of cottage cheese, some sauteed mushrooms and onions, pickles, mustard, ketchup, and the burger of course!

i love eating burger salads. unless it’s a really good roll (like the onion one i had last night), i don’t usually think burger buns are worth it. salad-style is much better.

***

after my morning of hard work, i’m pretty tired. i think i’m going to take it kind of easy for the rest of the day.

i just whipped up some of angela’s frosty no-bake chocolate oatmeal cookies and put them in the freezer about an hour ago, so i’ll have to give one of them a try and start a book that i’ve had forever and never read.

it’s called sex with kings. i love historical fiction and i don’t know why i’ve never gotten around to reading this, but it was mentioned in a stuff you  missed in history class podcast that i listened to the other day, so now i really have to read it!

***

enjoy the rest of your day!

do you like historical fiction?

what’s the best book you read recently?

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in organization and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to good food. good beer. good friends. good weekend.

  1. I’ve read the Other Boleyn Girl and really liked it-much better than the movie id’d say but I don’t think I’ve read any other historical fiction besides that…Looks like a nice weekend and great job on your guest room:)

  2. I just finished Unbroken. It’s a non-fiction book about a talented runner whose plane was shot down over the Pacific during World War II. It was amazing!

  3. Briana says:

    Cookouts are so much fun! One of the best parts of summer. And 10:30 is late after being up for so long! Good for you.

    I love historical fiction, my favorite genre. I have not heard of sex with kings, but I’ve been looking around for a new read, so thanks, I might look into it!

  4. What a fun weekend! I love non fiction, so right now I’m reading “Quirk” which is about the brain science that makes up your personality! so interesting!

  5. Your posts make me hungry. How do you like the french press? I have recently started up my coffee addiction again after years of neglecting it and my sad little Mr. Coffee pot is just…

  6. awww, so exciting to have family come visit! My sister and I are really close and I always try to convince her to come visit me. She’s been once (we’ve only lived here 2 years, so not too bad) but it was with my entire fam & I’d love to have her come out alone or just with her bf!

  7. I really want a burger after reading this!

  8. ooh yes I def want to see how you guys combined your stuff! Paul had NOTHING when we moved in together so I’ve kind of reigned supreme over our decor. Its turned me into a brat. I dont even share a bathroom with him. Buuuut thats about to change! =)

  9. I love historical fiction! Water for Elephants and The Glimmer Palace are two of my favorite books. I also really like Devil in the White City. The beginning is slow but once you get into the story, it’s a very good book.

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

