oh hey, did i tell you?

i’m participating in sarah’s virtual summer retreat from may 30 – july 9!

it’s a 6 week program and each week has a theme. every night, sarah posts the next day’s focus, some journal assignments, a meditation, some reading, and a mini assignment to do related to the focus.

i’m a huge fan of this because it’s totally do what works for you. if i don’t do part of it one day, it’s not a big deal!

i don’t think i’m going to do a daily update on it though. i’ll participate on my own to try to get the most out of it. then i’ll give weekly-ish updates on how it’s all going. deal?

***

week 1

week 1’s theme is inside/out. basically, thinking about self care and caring for your body.

*

day 1

day 1 was on monday. i was supposed to think about what works for me to feel my best? and what things get in the way of that?

my diet and attitude have the biggest impact on how i feel. if my diet is crappy, i know it quickly takes a toll on my body. concentrating on getting 6+ serving of fruit and vegetables (by eating whole fruits and vegetables  – not juices, etc.), lots of whole grains, and some protein really helps me feel good.

i’m also pretty good at identifying when i need an attitude adjustment. usually all that takes is a good laugh from brad, a cuddle session with capone, or a quick nap!

on monday, i also had to think about what things my ideal day would include and then to make sure i do at least one of those things in my day. well, my idea day includes a couple of things that i did do on monday.

taking capone for a long walk

cooking dinner with brad (we made enchiladas!)

getting to bed on time (by 10pm)

all of those things really did improve my day!

*

day 2

day 2 focused on sleep (how perfect since one of my things in my ideal day involves getting enough sleep!)

i usually go to bed between 9 and 10pm and my alarm goes off at 5:30am. 7.5 – 8.5 hours of sleep is really what works for me, so i already make a good effort to get that every night!

*

day 3

day 3’s focus was nutrition! hooray! you guys know i’m all about that.

again, i touched on day 1 about how important eating well is to helping me feel my best! the assignment yesterday was to keep track of my meals. i did a what i ate wednesday post yesterday, as suggested – but didn’t include yesterday’s meals because i wasn’t feeling well and didn’t really have an appetite. my meals were still in line with my nutrition goals though.

breakfast/lunch: a bowl of plain yogurt with pineapple, blueberries, banana, ground flaxseeds, and love grown foods granola

dinner: sauteed green peppers, onions, mushrooms with turkey sausage and a spinach salad with tomatoes, peppers, leftover salmon, and feta cheese.

*

day 4

today is day 4 and it’s focus is on workouts.

part one of today’s journal activity is to think about what activities i enjoy doing and make me feel good when i do them consistently. honestly, i love walking capone and doing pretty much any intense cardio (not running) like insanity dvd’s, ellipticalling with a magazine, or stair-stepping!

part two of that prompt is to think about which activity i would do if i chose only based on enjoyment, not the good things it does for my body. that would probably be walking/hiking for me! i love being outside and in nature and doing things that don’t feel like a workout…

sarah also suggests doing some kind of yoga – so i guess i’ll take her up on that today. i have some yoga dvd’s that my aunt gave me and i still haven’t tried. i fully intend to bust one of them out tonight!

i’ll let you know how that goes…. 🙂

*****

are you participating in sarah’s virtual retreat?

what activity would you do based purely on enjoyment, not health impacts?

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in ramblings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to oh hey, did i tell you?

  1. I adore the idea of this! and can’t wait to hear more as you go through the summer challenge!!!! i’m horrible at challenges otherwise i’d join ya!

    xoxo

  2. i can’t even remember the last time i went to bed that early! so jealous. i’m lucky if i’m in bed by midnight and up at 6. usually it’s more like bed at 1 up at 6…..lame! looking forward to two weeks of sleeping in!!

  3. yayyyyy so excited to see this post!!

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

