recent eats

i owe you guys a major update.

brad and i have been eating pretty well lately, even though i haven’t been showing you a lot of the meals. i started meal planning when brad and i moved in and i’ve finally been making a dent in my “recipes to make” starred folder in my google reader. 🙂

so here’s a run-down of some pretty awesome food that we’ve had lately.

*****

first, i won a giveaway a while ago from anna for some matt’s munchies fruit leathers and they arrived recently! i’ve been snacking on these a lot since i got them.

so far, mango is my favorite flavor! (not to be confused with the island mango flavor pictured…)

*****

i’ve also had some pretty amazing breakfasts.

lots of overnight oats as usual – topped with frozen blubes and love grown foods granola!

*

also, i recently discovered this awesome apple honey butter from trader joe’s.

i love this stuff! it’s awesome to just drizzle on a bowl of plain yogurt and fruit.

we’re almost out…

*

and last weekend, we actually got to make a breakfast at home and take our time. so i requested an egg sandwich!

piled high on a whole wheat english muffin with spinach, a little cheese, ham (or turkey?) tomato, and runny egg.

*****

i know i already told you guys about when i made jenn’s fiesta quinoa, but i did very much enjoy the leftovers!

warmed up quinoa on top of a big pile of spinach with a side of guacamole! not as good as the stuffed mushroom version, but still pretty great!

*****

now, on to dinners! i’ve had janetha’s recipe for chicken cordon bleu casserole starred for a long time in my reader and i finally made it!

i liked it, but i didn’t love it. i’m pretty sure that’s my fault though. i squeezed the mustard bottle too hard and added at least double what i was supposed to. i definitely tasted an overwhelming mustard flavor, and i bet janetha did not intend that! i blame me, not the recipe.

*

we also ate up some more of the white fish that my mom and stepdad caught!

i cooked it the same way as last time – baked at 350* for about 20 minutes with some lemon pepper. and that’s it! simple and delicious. we ate it with some steamfresh veggies – because sometimes you just need to be lazy! 😉

*****

and plenty of dessert has been enjoyed around here lately (and is probably the reason i don’t fit into my bridesmaid dress for my friend kel’s wedding next month – gahhhhh). one notable treat is this rhubarb crisp.

sorry for the blur – i was too excited to eat it!

my friend is out of the country for two weeks right now, so she asked me if i would mind stopping by her house twice while she’s gone to cut rhubarb and asparagus. *sigh* if i have to. 😉

what to do with lots of rhubarb? make a crisp of course! i just googled rhubarb crisp and used the first pretty standard recipe that popped up.

*****

geez. i’m not sure why i’ve been slacking so much on showing you my meals lately. i’ll try to do better! 🙂

have a great night!

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to recent eats

  1. strawberry rhubarb cobbler is one of my dad’s all-time fav desserts!

  2. ooh I’ve never had rhubard but a crisp sounds divine! can’t wait to hear about it! and the wontons (eee!) let me know how the imitation crab is!!

    and i’m totally putting fiesta quinoa on greens next time. ahhhhhmazing combo! yum! ❤

  3. I’m inspired by some of these eats. I’ve been eating like crap for over a week now.

  4. I just made a stellar strawberry/rhubarb crisp for Evan’s birthday. SO delicious!!

  5. Dorry says:

    Those blueberries look so delicious! Don’t you wish we had berries growing in our backyards?? And mango – fresh and dried – is one of my all-time favorites. 🙂

  6. Oh my gosh! I would love it if someone asked me to use their asparagus! It’s my favorite!!!

  7. KT says:

    That rhubarb crisp sounds divine! I have seen rhubarb at our Farmer’s Market the last few weeks and have hesitated when it came time to buy it because I didn’t know what to do with it…now I do 🙂

  8. Yum! I am going to have to look for that Honey Apple Butter when I’m back East in a few weeks and able to go to Trader Joe’s.

    Or maybe I’ll just make my own…

  9. Looks like you guys have definitely been eating well! 🙂

  10. Dang, sorry about the mustard fiasco! I bet I would have loved it still, though, because I love mustard!

  11. My family rhubarb recipe is SO good. (And easy)
    Yellow cake mix (prepared as directed) + rhubarb tossed with sugar +little carton of heavy whipping cream.
    Sprinkle rhubarb in bottom of pan, pour over cake mix then pour over heavy whipping cream.
    I highly recommend it – I’m going to try to make it soon!

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

