wonderful weekend

hey guys!

wow, this weekend totally flew by! i guess because it was pretty go-go-go…in a good way!

friday night brad and i had dinner at cafe samba because i had a groupon i had to use up. (full recap coming later this week)

then we came home and i was in bed at 8:30pm. just give me some dentures and call me grandma, i guess!

*****

saturday morning i had a baseline measurement visit for my study.

brad also helped at the visit – he did fitness testing on the kids! 🙂

then we came home, packed up, and headed to manitowoc (our hometown) for our friends’ couple’s shower!

i’ve been friends with kel since middle school and brad and pete have quickly become friends since brad and i have been together. i’m a bridesmaid and brad’s a groomsman in their upcoming wedding! 🙂

after the shower, a bunch of us went out to a couple manitowoc bars and ran into a million people we know, including my ex – blah (the curse/blessing of living in a small town!). the best surprise was seeing three of kel & my best middle school friends at one of the bars! they weren’t invited to the shower because it was family and bridal party only, but it was awesome that they were randomly out saturday too! we hung out and caught up with them for the rest of the night.

*****

this morning brad and i were up early (ok, at 9:30, which i consider early after a very very late night out at the bars!). we left his parents’ house around 11:30 because we wanted the day to get stuff done.

i took a nap, cleaned a little, went grocery shopping (and got a HUGE load – our fridge is bursting!), made dinner, and now i’m catching up on blogs!

i usually feel drained after a busy weekend, but i’m feeling great right now! i guess i’m just relieved that the world didn’t end this weekend…

*****

are you from a small town?

how small?

manitowoc’s population is around 35,000 ppl, so not tiny, but certainly not huge!

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to wonderful weekend

  1. You’re like the energizer bunny. seriously =) so cute that they had a couples shower! I would have looooved to do that! ❤ And I hear ya on the small town awesomeness/woes. eep!

  2. I am from a pretty average sized town. Not too big and not too small!

  3. Girl, I’m from a town of 2,000. Yes, TWO thousand! 🙂

  4. olgutam says:

    Originally I’m from a rather big town, currently I’m in a much smaller one. I prefer it, although sometimes I miss the busyness of the bigger cities!

  5. sounds like a wonderful weekend!! ps…i just typed wonderfun. new word?!

  6. KT says:

    Sounds like a fun and busy weekend!

    My town is small (10580 people) but because it is a suburb of Los Angeles we get all the amenities of a big city while still being able to enjoy and appreciate the small town atmosphere–we have a Huck Finn fishing day and a Fourth of July parade for example 🙂

  7. Sonia says:

    I am not from a small town at all! Yet, I still manage to run into so many people all of the time…

  8. I’m from Madison, which felt like the perfect size growing up. Most of my high school classmates attended UW and are now working in Madison, which gives it a small town feel.

  9. I from a tiny town south of Manitowoc. There were more people in my high school (I went to Sheboygan) than there were in my town at the time (I think we’ve grown a tad). There are about 1400 people now.

  10. I’m from Beloit which is about 35,000 people and it never felt small to me when I was growing up. After living in Milwaukee and DC, Madison felt small to me so now being back in Beloit, I feel like I’m living in rural America! ha!

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

