new plans

ok, so i want to tell you about my plank challenge plans, but i’m super tired and still have a sink full of dishes and a breakfast/lunch to pack, so this is going to be quick!

basically, for the next 6 weeks, i’m going to participate in the #fitblog planks challenge.

my ultimate goal for the challenge are to be able to hold a plank for 5 minutes by the end of it. i’m hoping that my insanity workouts + this plank program will help me reach that goal!

right now, i can easily (well, kind of easily) hold a plank for about 30 seconds.

so, how am i going to go from 30 seconds to 5 minutes in 6 weeks?

i’ve never made a plan like this by myself, so i’m kind of going to wing it. i’m going to try to do a planks session at least 3 days a week. each time i will concentrate on holding a plank for increasing time or increasing reps of planks.

eh, i guess i’ll let you know how it goes as i get into it! right now my abs are killing me from today’s insanity workout and my planks test run, so hopefully i see improvement quickly! 🙂

*****

do you do targeted core workouts?

i really don’t focus on abs very much. i know a strong core is important, but i have a pretty significant layer of fat over my abs, so even if i had killer muscles, you couldn’t see them anyway! 😉

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in workouts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to new plans

  1. ahhhhhh a 5 min plank!??!?! thats major girl! good luck! ❤ you can dooo it!

  2. I like to do targeted workouts on occasion, but typically I prefer a good all-body burn : )

  3. czechvegan says:

    I do Jillian Michael´s 6 week 6 pack from time to time, but I like to train my whole body, abs are not my main targeted area:)
    Good luck with the planks, I think I won´t be able to hold one for one minute, not even talking about 5 minutes:)

  4. That sounds crazy! I’ve been following Bess be Fit’s ab challenge but have slacked the last few days and need to catch up!

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

