a monster

oh boy, this is going to be a monster of a post! that’s because today was a delicious and action-packed day.

let’s start at the beginning…

i headed into lab this morning (i got in at 7:15 – so early!) and had breakfast at my desk as usual. today was overnight oats with chocolate almond milk and some blueberries and simply oats granola on top.

but the building was unusually quiet all morning so i went to investigate. after a quick visit to our office i realized that today was a furlough day! that means unessential employees are supposed to stay home. guess who’s a non-essential employee?!? this girl! woot woot! so i headed back home at about 10:00!

*****

i was feeling a bit blah at home, so i hopped back in bed with brad (yes, he was still in bed at 11am) and took a quick nappy! then i had my lunch.

leftover brisket (a pioneer woman recipe – amazing) on top of a salad!

a big old pile of spinach, tomatoes, and cucumbers with some shredded pepperjack!

*****

after brad finally got up and had his breakfast (as i ate my lunch), we had snuggle time with the puppy!

he’s allowed up on brad’s old bed in the guest bedroom, so we snuggled on there and i played chubby puppy…

kind of like that old game, chubby bunny? but with the puppy! haha, he’s a good sport. πŸ™‚

*****

then we did insanity!

power jumps!

these things are the death of me…

i felt the same way as brad when we were finished.

then i don’t know what got into us, but we decided to play with the pull-up bar!

i did one pull up. geez. they are hard! brad caught me just hanging out on the bar.

and i caught him mid pull-up.

yeah, he can actually do more than one at a time!

*****

then we made dinner. and oh. em. gee. we’ve had this dinner planned for over a week now and we finally made it tonight!

i started out by caramelizing some onions and mushrooms.

+

then brad assembled grilled cheese sandwiches with the mushrooms and onions inside while i boiled some corn on the cob.

so freaking delicious. this was the first time i’ve caramelized onions. i think i got a little impatient – i bet another 10-20 minutes would have made them perfect! the sandwich was still amazing though…

clearly.

*****

and then a fun treat arrived in the mail.

we just finished watching episode iv: a new hope.

i’ve said it before and i’ll say it again: i never thought i’d like star wars movies! but geez, this was another good one!

*****

and we took a break half-way through to whip up this treat for dessert.

i’ve been wanting to make one of these microwave muffins for the longest time! and now i finally did. i followed these instructions from smoothiegirl, and subbed in peanut flour for the coconut flour and yogurt for the pumpkin.

next up? socca! i’ve had garbanzo bean flour for over a month now, and still haven’t gotten to making it.

*****

whew! you get a cookie if you read this whole post. πŸ™‚

*****

i’ll be back tomorrow with my plans for the #fitblog planks challenge!

what? you thought there was a blog challenge that i wasn’t going to participate in?!?

please.

****

what was the best thing you ate today?

oh man. this is a tie between that bomb grilled cheese and the microwave muffin! you’ll definitely see both of those again.

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to a monster

  1. The fresh burrittos I made at home for the best things I ate—lots of zuchinni, salsa, and black beans!

  2. that grilled cheese sounds AMAZING!!!!!!!!!

  3. Oh I just love caramelized onions. And add in mushrooms?! I die!

    The best thing I had today was some banana bread straight from the oven!

  4. Kimberly says:

    I could not resist to say hello to a fellow cheesehead blogger. I am from platteville – come say hi anytime! πŸ™‚ Your blog is super cute. I can’t wait to hear how the wedding plans are coming along and how you are staying fit for the big day!!! I am getting married on June 11 (it is coming up so fast!) and am super pumped about the big day! πŸ™‚ Take care!

  5. Where’s my cookie?

    Seriously, I have had garbanzo bean flour forever, too and have yet to make socca. One day…

    Must try those muffins though. However I’m a little more interested in the brisket…

  6. KT says:

    That sounds like a great day–unexpected days off work are the best πŸ™‚

    I will definitely have to try out the microwave muffins…they look so easy and delicious!

  7. Briana says:

    I’ve been traveling all day and eaten lots of carb-y snack food.. best thing might be the key lime soy yogurt that was waiting for me in my fridge!

    That insanity workout looks like fun, but intense! good for you!

  8. Priyanka says:

    You are my hero, you did a pull up. That is amazing. Insanity looks insanely fun.

  9. You two look like you have lots of fun! πŸ™‚ And I play chubby puppy with my doggie all the time so no worries there. πŸ˜‰

  10. Dorry says:

    The best thing I ate today was my morning oatmeal. I was starving after my workout and it just hit the spot! Made with banana and raspberries…mmm.

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

