insanity

a couple of you have asked questions about insanity after i mentioned that brad and i did some of the workouts.

i bought insanity a while ago when i found a great deal on amazon. my friend grace had done the program with awesome results, and encouraged me to get it.

in the past, i did a couple of the dvd’s every now and then when i wanted an at-home workout, but i never did the 60-day program. brad borrowed it for a while and did the dvd’s every now and then too.

we decided that once we lived together, we’d do the whole program for wedding preparation!

well, that time is here and we’ve decided to do the whole 60 day program together. things are going pretty well so far. we’re on day 4 today (although we just got home at 9:30pm, so we’re not doing today’s workout tonight – i’m doing it when i get up tomorrow and brad will do it when he gets up. so tomorrow’s a double day).

so far, it’s kicking our butts.

it’s definitely a tough workout. by the time i’m done with the warm up, i’m dripping with sweat and my legs are screaming at me…

insanity is a program of max interval training. basically, it means you work at your maximum heart rate for each interval, then take a 30 second (or we pause it to extend to at least a minute) break between intervals to bring your heart rate down.

the program alternates between different dvd’s and you do 6 days on and 1 day off per week. days 1-5 are all different dvd’s, which i really like. no getting bored so far!

i’ve been hobbling around like an old lady for the past two days because of soreness, but it’s so worth it! i love that feeling of knowing i pushed my body.

*****

do you have any questions about insanity?

have you ever tried an insanity workout? what do you think?

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in workouts. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to insanity

  1. I have tried them and really enjoyed them. They are definitely no joke!

  2. Chelsea says:

    Sounds hard core. I bet the two of you will be in awesome shape for your wedding.

  3. KT says:

    I’ve never tried it but have heard good things about it–we may have to try this this summer 🙂

  4. i’ve heard nothing but good things about that program. proud of you guys for sticking to it!!!

  5. Katie says:

    I have never tried insanity! I think its even better when you have a workout buddy to do it with! Proud of you and your man!!!!!

  6. I’ve never tried Insanity but I’ve always wanted to! I just have so many workout DVDs already and I usually prefer outdoor workouts anyway (running, swimming, etc.) so it’s never made it to the top of my To-Do list.

  7. Priyanka says:

    Sounds intense! I tried his hip-hop abs and let me tell you, it only deepened my hatred for dvd workouts. It must be so motivating to have your significant other do the whole thing with you.

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

