it’s a fiesta!

brad and i celebrated cinco de mayo for dinner tonight!

it was inspired by miss jenn at peas & crayons. (i randomly had this stuff in my meal plan before i realized the date – what a perfect coincidence!)

first i made her fiesta quinoa (and forgot to take a picture). then i created a bomb salad with it!

spinach at the bottom, then the fiesta quiona, then a couple sliced black olives, some chopped green peppers, chopped tomatoes, shredded cheddar, salsa, and plain fat free yogurt! then we used whole wheat tortilla chips to scoop it all up!

and we took it one step farther (also inspired by jenn).

stuffed mushrooms! just put a little scoop of fiesta quinoa in the mushroom, top with shredded cheddar, and bake for 10 minutes! so good.

brad and i were both full and couldn’t finish our dinners! that’s ok with me though; now we have lots of leftovers for tomorrow!

*****

did you celebrate cinco de may?

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to it’s a fiesta!

  1. Give me those mushrooms! Gosh, they look delicious!

  2. How funny, I made Jenn’s quinoa today too! (she’s quite the marketer, isn’t she???) Mine was pretty different from the original, but it was freaking spectacular. MMM!

  3. steena says:

    Yum, you had a far better Cinco de Mayo meal than I did! Mine was non existant!

  4. Omg soooo surprisingly filling right?! I stuffed myself doing this too! =) in a good way though! stuffed belly and stuffed mushrooms are A+ in my book!

    ohmygosh im so glad you made BOTH of these!!! I am always super nervous that i’m the only one who likes my cooking…well… and paul too, he has no choice! muahahaha! so when my bffs make and like this stuff it literally makes my week!!! Thanks for recipe testing for me! love you like woah!

  5. KT says:

    I’ve been wanting to try Jenn’s quinoa recipes–they look delicious! We had our Cinco de Mayo dinner on Wednesday: steak fajitas and a black bean-tomato-cucumber salad…I could have just eaten the salad for dinner though πŸ™‚

  6. Aww, hooray for cooking specific cuisine for the holidays! πŸ™‚

  7. those mushrooms look so good!
    I didn’t do anything for cinco because I went out with friends the night before to celebrate finals ending…spent cinco recovering haha πŸ™‚

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

