sleepy hungry hippo

hey ladies! (i’m guessing it’s all ladies…any guys out there?)

i had a fun post planned for tonight, but i am absolutely exhausted from a busy day and i have another busy one planned for tomorrow, but i have to share this amazing snack i concocted when i was a hungry hungry hippo scavenging around my very bare kitchen this afternoon.

i mixed together:

  • ~1/2 cup plain low-fat yogurt
  • 1 tbsp ground flax
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp (homemade!) strawberry/rhubarb jam
  • 1 tbsp sunflower seed butter
  • 1/4 cup courtney’s amazing granola (courtney, i’m rationing it because i’m going to be so sad when it’s gone)

then i poured about 1/3 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk on top to thin it out a bit.

this was a perfect sweet snack and held me over until dinner 2 hours later perfectly!

*

i’m off to do my push-ups, skype with my love, then hit the pillows – i’m tired!

*****

what’s your go-to snack?

i don’t really have one. a lot of times i’ll have crackers + cheese, veggies + hummus, or carrots/celery + pb, but since i didn’t have any of that today, i had to get creative! πŸ™‚

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to sleepy hungry hippo

  1. i had cheese and crackers for dinner. true story. but now I’m a little sick from it. whoops?

    my go-to snack is edamame or a green monster lately. bah. no more cheese and crackers!

  2. 90% of the time I snack on hummus. I can never get enough hummus!

  3. Priyanka says:

    My go to snack, anything and hummus. Lately I have been stuffing my face with popcorn topped with nutritional yeast.

  4. Mmm! I’m SO happy you’re enjoying it!
    Love this snack idea – healthy and filling.

  5. Dorry says:

    I remember the days of skyping with Billy when we were long-distance! πŸ™‚

    My go-to snack is an apple with almond butter. It hits the spot every time, keeping me full for a couple of hours but also providing energy. Hope you get a good night’s sleep!

  6. i just bought my first jar of sunflower seed butter. i’m trying really hard to like it. i’m making myself try it several times to see if i get used to it.

    • Sarah says:

      i did NOT like it at first either! this jar that i’m in LOVE with now sat in my fridge untouched after i first tried it for probably 6+ months until i finished the rest of my nut/seed butters and had to go back to it. i’m hooked now though! πŸ™‚

  7. I feel like most of what I eat would be considered “snacks.” I’m a munch monster all day (and with teaching, that’s usually the only way we can eat)! Yogurt + cereal is just one of my all around favorite things to eat period. A spoonful (or 10) of nut butter also does the trick. πŸ™‚

  8. Briana says:

    My go to snack is definitely a “bar” of some sort. Lara Bars, Raw Revolution Bars, Nature Valley, etc etc, I’ve tried them all πŸ™‚

    LOVE SKYPE.. seriously, keeps my long distance relationship alive!

    • Sarah says:

      i do love lara bars! and yes, skype is a relationship-saver for sure! i skype with my sister now that she lives in cali too! it’s great.

  9. May not all be ladies…my boyfriend sometimes reads over my shoulder!!
    Your snack looks awesome πŸ™‚ I don’t really have a go-to snack- it just depends on what I have available I guess. Usually it involves apples though!

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

