red zinger – my first juice

hey friends! i’m so glad you all liked my 101 in 1001 list! i can’t wait to see all of your lists after you make them too. if you liked mine, you should also check out heather, jessica, kelly, and julie’s lists! they’re the ones that inspired me to do mine.

*****

today was a full day! i left madison around 7:30am to head down to st. louis for the weekend. since i wanted to get going early, i packed up food to eat in the car and stopped at starbucks before leaving for some energy!

overnight oats for breakfast, hot coffee, and a slice of pizza for lunchy!

*****

the ride was uneventful, which is always a good thing. 🙂 when i got to st. louis, i headed to a starbucks to work for a couple hours before i went to brad’s clinic for an adjustment.

i ended up getting an iced coffee this time, and then got a free refill before i left. did you know that if you get a starbucks gift card and register it, you earn “stars” and can get rewards? at the green level you get free syrup pumps, free soy milk, free refills on coffee and iced coffee (and tea?), and more! i totally take advantage of the rewards….

*****

after my adjustment, brad and i had big plans for dinner! i had a restaurant.com coupon to use at vegadeli, and since this is my last time visiting before he graduates (!!!), we had to use it now or never! i had never been to vegadeli and brad was not excited about it, but we tried it out anyway.

we ordered a juice and a smoothie since we had to spend $35. we also got cornbread to share. i ordered the sunrise wrap for my meal and brad got raw veggie alfredo.

the stuffed veggie cornbread was pretty good and brad’s raw alfredo was actually really delicious! the “alfredo” sauce was actually a cashew sauce. my sunrise wrap was just ok. it came with a sun-dried tomato spread, spinach, avocado, fake cheese (yuck), and black olives. it was nothing special and i could have totally made it better myself for less than $8.99. i have officially decided that i am 100% not a fan of fake cheese. please make mine real or leave it off….

the juice was ah-mazing! it was the red zinger and had ginger, strawberries, and apple. brad’s chocolate strawberry smoothie was just so-so.

we both said the overall meal was ok but that we probably wouldn’t eat there again. we would get that juice again though!

*****

we were still a little hungry after dinner, so we stopped at benito’s for some gelato!

woah huge portions! we each got mediums, and were both shocked at how huge they were. i had blackberry, cookies & cream, and paradiso (almond + coconut). brad got forestberry, chocolate walnut brownie, and peanut butter chip. neither of us could finish our who dish and we left stuffed!

*****

now we’re at home and i’m writing/reading bloggies, and brad is playing video games. it’s going to be a low-key night.

what is your favorite juice combination?

after we had that juice tonight, i asked brad if he wants to get a juicer, and he said yes for sure! maybe we’ll add one to our wedding registry….

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in st. louis and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to red zinger – my first juice

  1. When I lived in Milwaukee I would always get the green juice at the Public Market. It had apples, cucumbers, lime, and wheatgrass in it. It was so good. I might have to go get one this weekend!

  2. steena says:

    you’re a champ to do that diver over & over again.
    Can you believe I’ve never had gelato before?

    • Sarah says:

      girl, you need to change that. gelato is amazing! there’s a pretty tasty gelato place in the west town mall and on state street. make it happen!

  3. Dorry says:

    Vegadeli looks delcious! I like juices that have apples, grapefruit, lemons, celery, cucumber…a good mix of fruit and veg. 🙂

  4. Priyanka says:

    My mum made a apple, orange, ginger and lemon juice. Have a great weekend girl.

  5. Priyanka says:

    gah…I was still typing and hit enter to post the comment..

    I meant to say my mum made the above juice combination and I loved it.

  6. That red zinger looks so refreshing! I need to make that as soon as I get my hands on some more strawberries…I’ve been going through them like whoa now that they’re back in season!

  7. Amanda says:

    I had heard that you can get reward points at starbucks-but I never realized that they could result in such awesome things! I will definitely have to register my next gift card. Your juice looks delicious! I love making my own juice with 1 beet, 2 carrots, 1 celery stalk, 1 apple, and a little ginger. It is DELICIOUS every time 🙂 Hope you have a great weekend!

    • Sarah says:

      i tried to convince my fiance to get their other juice option – it had beets and carrots, but he was NOT into the idea. silly boys – afraid of things that sound scary!

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

