spring cleaning

who else is pumped that this work-week is half over?!? i usually try not to wish time away, but i am in major countdown mode. first, the big move is in 9 days and second, brad graduates in 17 days and moves to madison the day after! i’m not a patient person by nature, so i am just so ready for everything to happen!

one good thing about the bit of time i still have before those big events is that i have the perfect opportunity to do a little spring cleaning. i’m not just talking cleaning out closets and kitchen drawers here, though. i’m talking about spring cleaning my life!

how exactly am i going about this everything cleanse? i’m doing my best to begin to simplify every aspect of my life. here are a couple examples:

work files: i organized and filed EVERY single piece of loose paper on my desk or in my in/out bin. it feels amazing! i also removed unnecessary “personal” items from my desk. it really was not helpful to have 5 photos of brad and i, 3 of capone, and 2 of liz and i. now i have one of each.

facebook: i went through facebook and deleted any photos that may not appear very professional (been meaning to do this for a while, but have been putting it off) as well as cleaned out my friend list. i was brutal as i did this. for every single person, i asked myself a series of questions: would i say hi to this person if i saw them on the street/would they say hi to me? if no, delete! do i get annoyed every time i see a status update from this person? if yes, delete! am i only “friends” with this person for gossip purposes/do i even WANT to be friends with this person? if yes/no, delete! i ended up deleting over 200 non-friends that way. 🙂 it makes me happy to know that i’ll only see info from people who i am genuinely interested in and care about when i sign onto facebook!

photos: i have a LOT of photos from middle and high school and college. they were all in photo albums that didn’t match each other and were falling apart (and taking up a lot of bookshelf space). one of the downers of the new apartment is a serious decrease in storage space, so anywhere i can condense, i am going to! instead of having 7 photo albums taking up almost half of a bookshelf, i now have two boxes that contain all of my photos organized by year. they take up SO MUCH less space and look pretty nice if i do say so myself!

bathroom: i don’t know if this is just something that happens to me, but i somehow accumulate lots of personal care products: shower gel, lotions, makeup, travel sized everything, and more. i always hold on to it because i’m sure i can use it at some point, but it just leads to a LOT of unnecessary clutter and overflowing bathroom cabinets.

again, our new place has less storage in the bathroom, so i went through everything on those shelves and asked myself if i currently use it or would i use it right now if i ran out of what ever that thing is. if the answer was no, it went into a box to offer up to friends/family (some of it really is good stuff – i just won’t use it!) and if i find no takers, i’ll toss it.

those are just a couple examples of areas in my life where i’m trying to simplify! i’m also decreasing clutter in kitchen drawers, my closet/dresser, and little nicknacks around my apartment. it feels amazing to donate so much unnecessary stuff!

*****

good eats

today was a good day for food! 🙂 plus, i remembered to take photos! breakfast was the same oats i’ve been eating. topped with strawberries, sunflower seed butter, and courtney’s granola.

i ended up having 3 glasses of tea throughout the day. mug 3 was a lemon tea! mmm.

dream big. 🙂

*****

lunch

lunch was a random mix.

i have a lemon poppyseed scone, an apple, and a small bag of popcorners chips!

*****

dinner

i was ready to be a packing maniac when i got home, and i don’t have much food in my fridge, so i ordered a veggie pizza from glass nickel!

it has broccoli, black olives, mushrooms, green peppers, red onions and it is DELICIOUS! it was great packing fuel. 🙂 i have 3 large storage totes packed up and a couple more in progress! the packing is coming along…

*****

do you do spring cleaning?

what are your favorite pizza toppings?

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in organization and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to spring cleaning

  1. I love that facebook is part of your spring cleaning! Haha! 🙂

  2. Priyanka says:

    Amazing job doing all that cleaning and organizing girl! Some of my friends have such annoying statuses and that Farmville, fortune cookie prediction and generic messages drive me nuts.

    I am so happy that the weekend is getting here!

    • Sarah says:

      gah – yes! stupid farmville! i can’t take that…. and “xyz answered a question about you, click here to see what it is”. grrr.

  3. I love the questions you asked yourself about deleting friends on Facebook. I ended up hiding so many status updates, that I forgot who I was even friends with!

    I’m sure you will sleep better tonight with all the organizing and cleaning done – I know I always do!

    • Sarah says:

      yes! i could probably go through and do a round two…. i already found a couple ppl that i somehow missed!

      and i did sleep well last night, both from peace from getting so much done and from just being completely exhausted!

  4. girl you’ve been busy!! i did the same thing on facebook not that long ago! hope the days keep going quickly for you 🙂

  5. Megan says:

    i soooo need to spring clean! and i should hit up facebook and privatize some photos. i have a separate facebook account for work peeps and personal peeps though….so i might be in the clear!

    have a great day!

    • Sarah says:

      oh that’s such a good idea to have separate accounts! i’m not really friends with anyone from work on fb, but if i ever get a real job, i can see where two accounts might be a good idea.

  6. That pizza looks FANTASTIC! I love mine loaded up with lots of veggies and good, gooey cheese – that makes me happy! If I’m in the mood for meat, hawaiian is usually my favorite. Good luck with the packing! And I don’t think we do designated “spring cleaning” but when we have company over after we haven’t had anyone over in awhile it always feels that way!! I am a VERY reluctant house keeper and generally do the “big things” as infrequently as possible, I admit (sheepishly)!! 🙂

    • Sarah says:

      hahaha, i always end up having to do a big cleaning job when i have guests coming too! don’t worry – i think it’s human nature to let some of that stuff slide!

  7. Dorry says:

    I love spring cleaning, and moving a couple of weeks ago really helped jump start it! This reminds me I need to go clean out my facebook friends. I love the questions you ask yourself – I’m going to follow your lead. 🙂

  8. I saw that pizza on instagram and immediately started drooling.

  9. Ashley says:

    I did some pretty heavy-duty cleaning at the beginning of January, but not since then. I need to get on that Spring Cleaning train!

  10. Briana says:

    We both posted about pizza yesterday! Well, yours was real pizza! Mine was an attempt at pizza pasta that was so-so. My favorite toppings are definitely green peppers and onions!

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

