got beets?

you guys, i seriously got tears in my eyes reading your comments yesterday. thank you so much for your words of support. i do feel lucky that i have so many great memories of my dad & my post yesterday was a great way to think of them!

*****

breakfast

i am happy to say that i only have ONE more serving of my hot cereal that i’ve been trying to use up for the past month! after today’s breakfast, it will be gone and i can allow myself to restock my beloved rolled oats! i’ve missed them so much!

breakfast yesterday was a slight variation of the same thing i’ve been having for the past million days (ok, more like 3 weeks, but it feels like forever!). bob’s red mill hot 10 grain cereal cooked with half 1% milk and half water and a mashed banana whipped in while cooking. then it was topped with frozen blueberries and, to change it up, strawberries and sunflower seed butter! mmm, i’ve had a jar of tj’s sunflower butter in my fridge for a long time now, and now i’m wondering why it’s taken me so long to finish it! i am definitely a fan! πŸ™‚

*****

lunch

i forgot to photograph my lunch, but i had 2 cups of tj’s butternut squash soup and 2 slices of bread toasted with sharp cheddar [talk about random meals…].

i also had a handful of almonds and a handful on banana chips for a snack during my late afternoon class!

*****

dinner

you will never guess what i was craving for dinner last night… pickled beets! my mom would be so proud! πŸ™‚

i ate a wedge of laughing cow cheese with them – i love cheese with these beets. goat cheese is my favorite, but i’m all out. 😦

i know beets are not a favorite vegetable for most people, but i grew up in a family where my grandma’s beet soup was a major treat! so i love beets!

beets are packed full of good stuff, too, so i’m happy to embrace this love!

beets are high in:

+ folic acid

+ potassium

+ calcium

+ antioxidants

and my favorite

+ fiber!

you can also eat the beet greens – my grandma always used them in her soup. the greens are even more nutritious than the roots! they have more iron, potassium, vitamin A, and calcium.

so give beets a try – they’re good for you! (and they really are delicious pickled and with goat cheese).Β  πŸ™‚

*****

i also ran across the street from my office to subway this afternoon to get a 5 dolla foot long to have half for dinner last night and half for lunch today since my fridge is looking pretty bare.

i got a veggie delite with spinach, green peppers, tomatoes, cucumbers, red onions, banana peppers, extra black olives, and pickles! i also got a little bit of lite mayo squirted on there and added the last little slices of sharp cheddar from my fridge.

i β™₯ subway…

*****

getting real

ok, i don’t want to be all serious in this post or anything but i have to share something. i haven’t really talked about it a whole lot on the blog, but i’ve been really struggling with my body lately. i’ve been super stressed with school/work stuff and have let work-outs slide and have NOT been eating very cleanly.

i’m feeling a lot of pressure [from myself] to lose some inches for my wedding. i have 149 days left and i know if i want to do this right, i really need to get on top of my weight NOW. and just so you know, i am considered overweight by bmi and my percent fat levels, so this isn’t any disordered perception of myself or pushing things too far or anything. i definitely have some fat to lose.

so, i hope you guys don’t mind if i start to post pretty much every bite that crosses my lips. it will keep me so much more on track if i have to tell you about it! if it gets super boring or overwhelming (or annoying), i’ll stop. but i want to try it out for a little bit.

i’m still going to post about wedding plans as they progress or whatever else strikes my fancy, and you’ll definitely still see a beer or cupcake or two on here, i just want to be more accountable to myself. sound good? great!

*****

what kinds of wedding posts would you be interested in seeing on here?

beets: yum or yuck? discuss…

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to got beets?

  1. It’s your blog – so post whatever you want! Good luck in your pre-wedding weight loss. I lost 2-3 pounds the week of the wedding due to stress, 2-3 pounds that I wasn’t planning on losing. And it all came out of my already small bosom. Which means my dress was a little loose up top. Oh well…

    • Sarah says:

      i don’t have small bosom issues, but i also don’t usually lose weight when i’m stressed, i totally gain. so i hope i can control my stress levels as the wedding gets closer!

  2. Agree with Michelle up there–it’s your blog, so do your thing!

    Since you are starting the weight loss and inches loss early, you should be fine. Slow and steady wins the race!

  3. Amanda says:

    I LOVE beets. I love eating them in all sorts of ways, I think I like juicing them best!

  4. Dorry says:

    I think it’s great that you put this out here on your blog! I have a feeling you’ll love the support from readers and accountability to help you make healthy food decisions. I love reading wedding-related posts. It’s such an exciting time!

  5. First of all: beets are a yum, but only if roasted in the oven. Any and all wedding posts are awesome, especially since I plan to start planning one this summer.

    Second of all: you won my granola giveaway! Please email me your address so I can send it to you. My email is thenewchrissy (at) gmail (dot) com. Thanks for playing! πŸ™‚

  6. You do what you need to do girl!
    I like beets…but I honestly don’t know if I’ve ever had them pickled? I need to find that!

  7. I want a beet salad now. thanks

    i dont have any beets. betch

    xoXOxo
    Jenn @ Peas & Crayons

  8. Priyanka says:

    Beets= YUCK! My mum has explained to me the benefits of beets on so many occassion, that I could wake up in the middle of night and list them to ya. Cannot get over the woody texture.

    I cannot wait to see your detailed eats. Do what’s best for you girl!

  9. i’m behind you 100%!! so glad you’re doing this the healthy way. if you think people are getting bored of looking at everything you’re eating, try turning the pictures into a collage. it will be pretty to look at but still hold you accountable! but we all know i love looking at pictures of food so as far as i’m concerned, the more the better πŸ™‚ love you girl…you are SO beautiful!

  10. Megan says:

    beets=nasty. im sorry 😦 but im glad you like them.
    i guess i should get this straight…i have never HAD beets, they just dont look like my thing haha πŸ˜‰ maybe ill try them sometime!

    hope u have a great weekend girl!

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

