what i ate wednesday + memories

thank you all so so much for all of your congratulations on passing my prelim exam! it was rough, and i’m glad it’s over, but it feel so great to be done! 🙂

*****

it’s wednesday, so that means….

i forgot to take photos of my breakfast and lunch, but that’s ok – they were boring! after lab, a bunch of us went to the library (our favorite place, obviously!) for a drink to celebrate me passing my exam! i got a beer, duh.

i tried a new one. this was ale asylum big slick stout. it was very good, but very dark & very high in alcohol!

i came home from happy hour and made a repeat for dinner.

grilled cheese with tomato soup again! 🙂 the grilled cheese was made with spinach & feta bread and i used sharp cheddar for the cheese. i always butter the outsides of the bread and sprinkle a little garlic powder and basil on them too. it’s my “secret ingredient!”

also, i really like this soup. it’s from a box – pacific brand.

it doesn’t taste like boxed or canned soup. it’s very fresh!

*****

30 day challenge: day 30

and finally, the last day of the 30 day challenge. today i have to post a photo of someone i miss. well, there is no one i miss more than my dad.

i mentioned before that my dad passed away when i was a senior in high school. it was very unexpected and really awful. he was a great dad. he was really involved with my sister and i and spent a lot of time with us.

he played “marching band” with my sister and i when we were little.

he coached our softball teams for several years.

and he taught us how to fish! we used to take lots of family camping trips and he was always very patient and let my sister and i fish as much as we wanted. sometimes he didn’t even get to put his hook into the water because my sister and i needed him to put worms on our hooks, then take fish off and put more worms on… he was very patient. i can’t go fishing without thinking of him now.

i miss him every day.

*****

have you lost anyone close to you?

it sucks.

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to what i ate wednesday + memories

  1. 😦 sorry for your loss, my friend. glad you have such good memories to hold on to.

  2. beer + grilled cheese + tomato soup = utter perfection

    I’m sorry about your dad!!! I lost mine a week before I started high school. It does suck. SO MUCH! Thank goodness we have our moms and siblings to try and fill the HUGE void!

    love ya girly

  3. brandi says:

    congrats on the prelim! that is awesome 🙂

    I have lost a few people, but one of them affected me in huge ways. my best friend and his mom were killed in a car accident when I was 16, and I miss them every day. It was the hardest thing (so far) I’ve had to live through.

  4. Megan says:

    I’m really sorry to hear about your dad…it is just something you never really get over I think. I have never lost anyone that close to me, and if I do, I’m not sure how I’ll cope. I am glad your dad’s wisdom has passed on down though 🙂

    Hope you’re having a great week!

    ❤ Megan

    • Sarah says:

      thanks megan. it is a hard thing to go through, but i’m happy i have all of those great memories and now i can look back on him happily.

  5. Priyanka says:

    I am very sorry to hear about your dad Sarah, hold on to those beautiful memories. Your dad never left you, he lives through those memories in your heart! I am sorry again!

    Have a lovely day, sweetheart!

  6. Your dad sounds like an amazing person who has had a huge impact on your life. Dads are so great at passing on life’s best lessons.
    Since I missed it, just wanted to say congrats on passing you prelim!! Very exciting!

    • Sarah says:

      thanks corey! dad’s are so wise, aren’t they?!? i’m lucky i got to have him in my life for as long as i did. i know a lot of people don’t have that chance!

  7. Dorry says:

    What a lovely tribute to your dad! I’m so sorry you lost him at a young age. My husband’s father passed away about a year and a half ago, and it was (and still is) very difficult. But the best thing we can do to honor them is to celebrate their life and remember them in ways like this post. Hugs to you!

  8. Briana says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss, Sarah. He seemed like such a wonderful person. It’s so nice that you have such happy memories of him to keep in your mind and share with everyone else. Sending some good thoughts and blessings your way 😉

  9. Hi Sarah – I just found your blog and had to comment. So sorry to hear about your dad. I love my dad a few years ago and I continue to miss him everyday. You dad sounds like a great guy. My dad coached softball for me too! Cheers to being lucky enough to have amazing fathers. 🙂

    • Sarah says:

      hi laura, thanks for visiting my blog! i’m sorry you’re first visit was such a heavy topic, but i hope it reminded you of your amazing father too. 🙂

  10. Oh, Sarah – obviously your dad was a wonderful man. It’s great that you have many fond memories that you can cherish forever.

  11. I’m so sorry for your loss. I know your dad would be so proud of you and the person you are becoming. How could he not be?

    I think you have his smile – what a wonderful thing to inherit!

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

