jilly’s cupcake bar

yesterday i started the morning with a grande starbucks coffee.

grande starbucks coffee

it was brain fuel to work on my research proposal presentation. i’ve got a pretty good draft going – still not satisfied with it though. i’ll be working hard today!

*****

jilly’s cupcake bar

for lunch, brad and i ventured to one of my favorite places ever! jilly’s cupcake bar on delmar has some of the most beautiful and delicious cupcakes i have ever seen. there was a living social deal for $10 for $20 of food and cupcakes a while ago, so i snapped it up without question!

jilly's cupcake bar

first of all, the shop is so cute. i love pink and bright colors, and this place delivers those goods for sure! it was crazy packed yesterday, so i didn’t snap any photos of the decor. i did, however, get these shots of their cupcakes!

jilly's cupcakes

they have 6 permanent “favorite” cupcake flavors that they have every day, and then they have about 6 monthly specials, and each day they serve 3 or 4 of those 6 as well.

more jilly's cupcakes

it’s not only cupcakes at jilly’s, though! they’ve got a pretty delicious lunch menu too! i ordered an “omg roasted veggie sandwich” which came with a side of chips.

jilly's omg roasted veggie sandwich

and brad ordered the brisket quesadilla and a side of brisket chilli topped with cheese, sour cream, and onions. he ate it too quickly for me to take a picture though!

we couldn’t come to jilly’s and not get cupcakes though! we ordered two. first, a reeces cupcake topped with lots of peanut butter cup chunks.

jilly's reeces cupcake

we had that one as dessert after lunch.

and i ordered a bee sting cupcake!

jilly's bee sting cupcake

this one was lemon flavored. mmmm. we at it for dessert after dinner! 🙂

jilly’s has never left me disappointed. if you love cupcakes, definitely stop there if you’re ever in the st. louis area! it is by far the best cupcake shop i’ve ever visited!

*****

30 day challenge: day 27

today’s task is to post a photo of myself and a family member. well, you guys have met my mom, my sister, brad, and capone, so today i’ll introduce you to someone else!

me & uncle mark - graduation.jpg

meet my uncle mark! he’s my mom’s younger brother and my godfather. he also lives in st. louis with my aunt and two little cousins, so i got to see them a lot when i was in undergrad and brad and i have dinner with them often when i visit! i actually lived with them for 3 months during the summer of 2008, after i graduated but before i started grad school!

he also graduated from the same undergrad as me – just about 20 years earlier! 🙂 he’s a pretty cool guy.

*****

i’m headed back to madison pretty early this morning. usually i stay as late as i can push it – 2 or 3pm – but my plan is to head straight to my office and stay there until i finish polishing my proposal. then i can go home and practice it a couple times!

*****

what’s your favorite kind of cupcake?

i love lemon baked goods!

About sarah

hi, i'm sarah. i'm a graduate student, dog lover, newlywed, blogger, aspiring baker/cook, and a veggie lover. :)
This entry was posted in st. louis and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to jilly’s cupcake bar

  1. I want to go there! How awesome you can get a meal and gourmet cupcakes in one place. Love lemon cupcakes too. Although the bee on there kind of freaks me out. LOL

  2. Jilly’s Cupcake bar looks SO cute! I wanna go!

  3. sarah says:

    i love lemon, too. when i was growing up, i ALWAYS asked for lemon-flavored cupcake/cake/whatever my birthday. if i got chocolate instead, there would be hell to pay!

  4. Dorry says:

    It’s hard for me to pick a favorite, but I love red velvet! Lemon and strawberry are delicious, too. I guess I have springtime on the brain. 🙂

  5. I LOVE LEMON BAKED GOODS!!! haha I’m literally about to drive up to wherever you’re from {St. Louis I think}. Cupcake shops are my favorite!!

    • Sarah says:

      i actually live in madison, but my fiance is in st. louis now for school, so i was visiting him last weekend when we got the cupcakes!! 🙂

  6. what a cute yummy little place!

  7. omg, I would get in trouble at that cupcake bar! I love ALL kinds of cupcakes!

  8. lemon and carrot baked schtuff makes me happy! chocolate and vanilla are yummy but they overload me really easily and I can eat more fruity stuff than sweety stuff! =) the cupcakes look beyond amazing!!!! I wish there were groupons and living social deals for places near me! We aren’t on the list yet!

    hope you had a rockin’ weekend girly! ❤

  9. steena says:

    That cupcake place, in Madison? Yes? No? Gosh I hope so! I’ve tried the Cupcakery on Atwood, but wasn’t impressed.

    • Sarah says:

      aww, i’m sorry, it’s in st. louis. 😦 i WISH it was in madison! i tried a cupcake place on state street and was not impressed with them either… sad.

i love interacting with readers - your comments keep me going! :) leave a message so i can get to know you better.

